TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
6,011 Reviews & Articles | 38,773 News Posts
TRENDING NOW: Windows 9 logo teased, with Microsoft's next OS 'coming soon'

GIGABYTE X58A-OC (Intel X58 Express) Motherboard Review - Overclocking

GIGABYTE's resident overclocker HiCookie has been tinkering in the lab and has come up with something special - the X58A-OC!

| Socket LGA 1366 in Motherboards | Posted: Jun 20, 2011 5:07 am
TweakTown Rating: 88%Manufacturer: GIGABYTE

Overclocking

 

The X58A-OC is designed as an overclocking motherboard. It is intended to be pushed to the limits. You have beefed up power regulation, extra ports to the board for more level power and room for insulation and cooling. The BIOS is a little mundane (to be honest), but the board is intended to run flat out. This has an up side and a down side. On the one hand, you can get quite a lot out of the X58A-OC. The only problem is that to get there you have to make sure all of your components are at the top of their game too.

 

In our test setup we ran into a few issues. Our top OC was only 4.375GHz (175x25). This is only a 1.1GHz boost from the stock clock speed. The reason we could not get higher? Our cooling and the RAM we were using. Whenever I tried to push beyond that 175MHz BCLK, the voltage needed was just too much. I could get into Windows, but I would quickly see the temperatures get saturated under any real load.

 

TweakTown image content/4/1/4151_100_gigabyte_x58a_oc_intel_x58_express_motherboard_review.png

 

You can see the CPU-Z validation here.

 


EasyTune 6

 

We have talked about this overclocking/monitoring software on multiple occasions. It is functional and has some nice add-on features, but not much changes from install to install. We will cover some of the highlights and let the pictures do the rest of the talking.

 

TweakTown image content/4/1/4151_27_gigabyte_x58a_oc_intel_x58_express_motherboard_review.png

 

TweakTown image content/4/1/4151_28_gigabyte_x58a_oc_intel_x58_express_motherboard_review.png

 

The Two CPU-Z like pages are nice to get a quick look at what you are getting for overclock speeds, but if you are serious you are still going to end up using CPU-Z in the end.

 

TweakTown image content/4/1/4151_29_gigabyte_x58a_oc_intel_x58_express_motherboard_review.png

 

The Tuner pages have some interesting features even for those that might be very new to overclocking.

 

TweakTown image content/4/1/4151_30_gigabyte_x58a_oc_intel_x58_express_motherboard_review.png

 

GB has included tools for everyone from beginner to expert.

 

TweakTown image content/4/1/4151_31_gigabyte_x58a_oc_intel_x58_express_motherboard_review.png

 

TweakTown image content/4/1/4151_32_gigabyte_x58a_oc_intel_x58_express_motherboard_review.png

 

You even have the option to tweak your GPU (at least most of the time).

 

TweakTown image content/4/1/4151_33_gigabyte_x58a_oc_intel_x58_express_motherboard_review.png

 

You also have a few options to adjust/monitor fan profiles along with temperatures and voltages.

 

TweakTown image content/4/1/4151_34_gigabyte_x58a_oc_intel_x58_express_motherboard_review.png

 

TweakTown image content/4/1/4151_35_gigabyte_x58a_oc_intel_x58_express_motherboard_review.png

 

As all overclocking results are dependent on the hardware you use, your results may vary. Results of our overclocking tests are included in the performance section with the stock scores.

 

Important Editor Note: Our maximum overclocking result is the best result we managed in our limited time of testing the motherboard. Due to time constraints we weren't able to tweak the motherboard to the absolute maximum and find the highest possible FSB, as this could take days to find properly.

 

We do, however, spend at least a few hours overclocking every motherboard to try and find the highest possible overclock in that time frame. You may or may not be able to overclock higher if you spend more time tweaking or as new BIOS updates are released. "Burn-in" time might also come into play if you believe in that.

 

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Motherboards content at our Motherboards reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Got an opinion on this content? Post a comment below!

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts
Check out TweakTown Polls on LockerDome on LockerDome

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases