TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
6,248 Reviews & Articles | 40,748 News Posts
TRENDING NOW: Rockstar rumored to announce Grand Theft Auto: San Andreas 2 soon

GIGABYTE 990FXA-UD7 (AMD 990FX) Motherboard Review

GIGABYTE fuses the new 990FX series chipset from AMD to the much loved UD7 series. Let's check it out.

| Socket AM3/AM3+ in Motherboards | Posted: Jun 9, 2011 12:37 pm
TweakTown Rating: 93%Manufacturer: GIGABYTE

Introduction

 

TweakTown image content/4/1/4140_02_gigabyte_990fxa_ud7_amd_990fx_motherboard_review.jpg

 

Over the coming months as we build up towards finally getting our hands on the Bulldozer platform, we'll no doubt be looking at plenty of 990FX based motherboards from companies. Having already looked at what ASUS offered us in their ROG Crosshair V Formula board, today we'll take the time to check out the GIGABYTE option.

 

While GIGABYTE do have a few 990FX options, we've gone straight to the top today and will be checking out the 990FXA-UD7 which carries with it those lovely aesthetics we're used to seeing from the UD7 series.

 

With the full package on hand, we'll get stuck into the box and what's inside before taking a closer look at the board itself. Once that's done, we'll venture into the BIOS to see what's going on before we take a closer look at our testbed, overclocking and then of course, performance.

 


The Package

 

TweakTown image content/4/1/4140_03_gigabyte_990fxa_ud7_amd_990fx_motherboard_review.jpg

 

TweakTown image content/4/1/4140_04_gigabyte_990fxa_ud7_amd_990fx_motherboard_review.jpg

 

TweakTown image content/4/1/4140_05_gigabyte_990fxa_ud7_amd_990fx_motherboard_review.jpg

 

TweakTown image content/4/1/4140_06_gigabyte_990fxa_ud7_amd_990fx_motherboard_review.jpg

 

In typical UD7 fashion we've got a really big box that opens up and shows us part of the board itself, and gives us an absolute wealth of information that shows us a bunch of the features that the UD7 version of the 990FX based board offers us.

 

TweakTown image content/4/1/4140_07_gigabyte_990fxa_ud7_amd_990fx_motherboard_review.jpg

 

TweakTown image content/4/1/4140_09_gigabyte_990fxa_ud7_amd_990fx_motherboard_review.jpg

 

Most of the bundle is fairly standard; we've got some paperwork, sticker, driver CD and I/O shield, along with four SATA cables.

 

TweakTown image content/4/1/4140_08_gigabyte_990fxa_ud7_amd_990fx_motherboard_review.jpg

 

Also included are a bunch of SLI and CrossFire cables in the package. We've got a 4-Way and 3-Way SLI bracket, a single SLI bridge and two CrossFire bridges.

 

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Motherboards content at our Motherboards reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Got an opinion on this content? Post a comment below!

Latest News Posts

View More News Posts

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases