TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
6,061 Reviews & Articles | 38,961 News Posts
TRENDING NOW: Strap an iPad to your face with AirVR for mobile VR

GIGABYTE Z68X-UD3H-B3 (Intel Z68) Motherboard Review - BIOS and Touch BIOS

Already impressed with the GIGABYTE Z68X-UD7-B3, we look at the more aggressively priced UD3H version today to see if it can impress, too.

| Socket LGA 1155 in Motherboards | Posted: May 26, 2011 9:30 am
TweakTown Rating: 92%Manufacturer: GIGABYTE

BIOS and Touch BIOS

 

When it comes to the BIOS of the Z68X-UD3H-B3, it's near identical to that of the Z68X-UD7-B3. The main difference is that we've got some options to adjust voltage in regards to the onboard video. Apart from that, the traditional BIOS and Touch BIOS information below has been taken from our Z68X-UD7-B3 review.

 

BIOS

 

If you've been reading a lot of P67 or Z68 reviews of the past few months and seen all those flashy BIOS pictures, you may find yourself a little let down by the "traditional" BIOS setup. Using the Award lay out we've grown to know, you're not going to find anything too out of the ordinary when it comes to the whole BIOS.

 

TweakTown image content/4/1/4113_18_gigabyte_z68x_ud3h_b3_intel_z68_motherboard_review.jpg

 

TweakTown image content/4/1/4113_19_gigabyte_z68x_ud3h_b3_intel_z68_motherboard_review.jpg

 

TweakTown image content/4/1/4113_20_gigabyte_z68x_ud3h_b3_intel_z68_motherboard_review.jpg

 

TweakTown image content/4/1/4113_21_gigabyte_z68x_ud3h_b3_intel_z68_motherboard_review.jpg

 

TweakTown image content/4/1/4113_22_gigabyte_z68x_ud3h_b3_intel_z68_motherboard_review.jpg

 

TweakTown image content/4/1/4113_23_gigabyte_z68x_ud3h_b3_intel_z68_motherboard_review.jpg

 

TweakTown image content/4/1/4113_24_gigabyte_z68x_ud3h_b3_intel_z68_motherboard_review.jpg

 

Really, there's absolutely nothing wrong with the BIOS, but over the last few months it's been nice to see a bit of color in what has traditionally been a pretty boring part of a motherboard.

 

The thing is, GIGABYTE has taken a bit of a different approach to the whole colorful BIOS thing, introducing "Touch BIOS" not that long ago.

 

Touch BIOS

 

To be completely honest, I found myself a little skeptical about Touch BIOS. Initially I didn't do a lot of research on it and thought that I'd just wait till I had my hands on a board that could make use of it. I wasn't sure where the "Touch BIOS" was going to be instituted; in Windows or at the actual BIOS level. Also, the "Touch" bit makes you think it's really only designed for "Touch" Screens.

 

When I finally setup the Z68X-UD7-B3 and installed all the usual stuff along with the latest version of "Touch BIOS", I discovered it's done in Windows. Instantly I thought to myself it was just another halfhearted piece of software that would let you adjust some things that can be done in the BIOSÂ…..how wrong I was, though!

 

"Touch BIOS" is essentially your BIOS in Windows, and not just your BCLK / Multiplier / Core Voltage, but everything that's in the BIOS. The integration into Windows also means that the mouse is extremely easy to use; the mouse in your standard EFI BIOS just never feels as smooth. Of course, in Windows you've got drivers installed, mouse sensitivity set correctly and all that jazz.

 

TweakTown image content/4/1/4113_26_gigabyte_z68x_ud3h_b3_intel_z68_motherboard_review.png

 

TweakTown image content/4/1/4113_27_gigabyte_z68x_ud3h_b3_intel_z68_motherboard_review.png

 

TweakTown image content/4/1/4113_28_gigabyte_z68x_ud3h_b3_intel_z68_motherboard_review.png

 

TweakTown image content/4/1/4113_29_gigabyte_z68x_ud3h_b3_intel_z68_motherboard_review.png

 

We've seen a lot of companies integrate the EFI BIOS system in many ways. The "Touch BIOS" system is kind of the best of both worlds as you can opt for that traditional BIOS that you've become so accustomed to if you want, or you can opt for this full on graphical interface within Windows.

 

Something else I like is that GIGABYTE are listening to feedback. My understanding is that initially there was just text at the main screen. A few people said it would be nice to have words corresponding to what each section is; "Overclock", "Boot Disk" and etc. So what did GIGABYTE do? They added it to the latest version.

 

For me the only thing I can really think that I'd like to see is to have the ability to make the window longer and not have the need to scroll if you're on a monitor with a higher resolution. Apart from that, though, "Touch BIOS" does a good job at offering us a new way to edit our BIOS options.

 

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Motherboards content at our Motherboards reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Got an opinion on this content? Post a comment below!

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases