TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
5,916 Reviews & Articles | 38,116 News Posts

GIGABYTE Z68X-UD7-B3 (Intel Z68) Motherboard Review

We check out the new Z68X-UD7-B3 from GIGABYTE and see what this new "Touch BIOS" thing is all about.

| Socket LGA 1155 in Motherboards | Posted: May 24, 2011 3:37 pm
TweakTown Rating: 95%      Manufacturer: GIGABYTE

Introduction

 

TweakTown image content/4/1/4108_02_gigabyte_z68x_ud7_b3_intel_z68_motherboard_review.jpg

 

Earlier this month GIGABYTE invited us over to check out both the Z68X-UD7-B3 and Z68X-UD3H-B3 Motherboards in Taiwan. Because the preview on the GIGABYTE boards wasn't done in house and didn't include the contents of the package nor our standard photo line-up, we'll be covering the board as we would normally cover one that we hadn't previewed.

 

That means that we'll start by looking at the box itself before looking at the actual contents of the package. Once that's done we'll have a good look around the motherboard to cover the location of all those important connectors while also covering some of the main features. Once that's done, we'll check out the BIOS and we'll also do something a little different today and cover the new Touch BIOS that GIGABYTE has been heavily promoting.

 

Once we've done that, we'll cover the overclocking potential we managed to achieve with the board and also talk a little about GIGABYTEs "QuickBoost" feature before getting into the performance side of things.

 

So with that all said and done, let's not delay any longer and get stuck into the package of the GIGABYTE Z68X-UD7-B3 to see exactly what's going on.

 


The Package

 

TweakTown image content/4/1/4108_03_gigabyte_z68x_ud7_b3_intel_z68_motherboard_review.jpg

 

TweakTown image content/4/1/4108_04_gigabyte_z68x_ud7_b3_intel_z68_motherboard_review.jpg

 

TweakTown image content/4/1/4108_05_gigabyte_z68x_ud7_b3_intel_z68_motherboard_review.jpg

 

TweakTown image content/4/1/4108_06_gigabyte_z68x_ud7_b3_intel_z68_motherboard_review.jpg

 

In typical GIGABYTE fashion, the Z68X-UD7-B3 box is big and has an absolute wealth of information. Like a book, you can flip open the front and see not only part of the board, but also a diagram as to how the cooling system works and just a bunch more information in relation to the features that are offered on the board.

 

TweakTown image content/4/1/4108_07_gigabyte_z68x_ud7_b3_intel_z68_motherboard_review.jpg

 

TweakTown image content/4/1/4108_08_gigabyte_z68x_ud7_b3_intel_z68_motherboard_review.jpg

 

Inside the box we're pretty stacked when it comes to the bundle. We've got the normal stuff like manuals, driver CD and I/O shield. On the SATA cable front we've got four along with two SATA to eSATA cables. Along with that, we've also got an eSATA power connector and two SLI bridges; one a 3-Way SLI one, the other just an extended bridge.

 

TweakTown image content/4/1/4108_09_gigabyte_z68x_ud7_b3_intel_z68_motherboard_review.jpg

 

On top of all that, we've got an eSATA bracket on the right and a dual port, 3.5" USB 3.0 plate that can be installed in the front of your case. Clearly this is one of the larger bundles we've seen to date on the Z68 platform.

 

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Motherboards content at our Motherboards reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Post a Comment about this content

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts

TweakTown Web Poll

Question: Facebook's acquisition of Oculus VR will...

Improve Oculus Rift Development

Hamper Oculus Rift Development

Completely destroy Oculus Rift Development

Let's wait and see, I'm not sure

or View the Results

View More Polls

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases