TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
5,914 Reviews & Articles | 38,095 News Posts

LanCool First Knight PC-K63 Mid Tower Case Review - The Build and Finished Product

A new series of chassis designs is being released by LanCool. Today we are going to look at the new PC-K63 from the First Knight Series of cases.

| Mid-Tower Cases in Cases, Cooling & PSU | Posted: May 20, 2011 2:50 am
TweakTown Rating: 92%      Manufacturer: LanCool

The Build and Finished Product

 

TweakTown image content/4/0/4095_26_lancool_first_knight_pc_k63_mid_tower_case.jpg

 

Getting ready to install the drives as I usually do this first, I removed the front bezel to gain access to the bay covers. I found that the bay covers are shipped held in by pressure really. You can add screws to secure the covers if you wish. I also found that both of the 140mm blue LED fans have their own dust covers that clip into place behind the bezel.

 

TweakTown image content/4/0/4095_27_lancool_first_knight_pc_k63_mid_tower_case.jpg

 

Since there are no wires attached to the bezel, once I removed the bay cover and installed the drive, the cover snapped right back in place and leaves you with this to look at from the front.

 

TweakTown image content/4/0/4095_28_lancool_first_knight_pc_k63_mid_tower_case.jpg

 

With everything in place, the features of the PC-K63 make themselves known. The open design with the wire management channel makes for a very clean wiring of the interior. I removed the middle hard drive rack to allow for better airflow, and it gave me the ability to mount a 2.5" drive to the top of the cage that is left. If you plan to go mobile with this chassis, the lock for the power supply will keep it securely in place. Since the USB 3.0 cable is so short I had no option but to cut across the middle of the board and use a water cooling hole to get to the rear I/O.

 

TweakTown image content/4/0/4095_29_lancool_first_knight_pc_k63_mid_tower_case.jpg

 

The window is placed really well and offers a view of all the hardware. The angle of the window I get follows the design of the front, but the angled side offers more view of the drives and rack components, something I'd rather not see.

 

TweakTown image content/4/0/4095_30_lancool_first_knight_pc_k63_mid_tower_case.jpg

 

I was able to connect the USB 3.0 cable, but just! - I really think that LanCool needs to look into this. Aside from that the rear of the case fills out nicely and both the lock on the PSU and the expansion card is very secure once locked down.

 

TweakTown image content/4/0/4095_31_lancool_first_knight_pc_k63_mid_tower_case.jpg

 

With a couple of wire ties to power the fans, and simply running the 24-pin straight from the PSU to the motherboard, the channel in this chassis took all the wiring I had and gobbled it up. Once the wiring was in the right places you just need to lock all the clips to keep it secure.

 

TweakTown image content/4/0/4095_32_lancool_first_knight_pc_k63_mid_tower_case.jpg

 

Turning the lights down as I powered up the PC-K63, the front glows with the flood of blue LED lighting. The slit at the top is always on as is the pair of 140mm fan LEDs. While the lighting is bright, I like the way this looks in action.

 

TweakTown image content/4/0/4095_33_lancool_first_knight_pc_k63_mid_tower_case.jpg

 

Moving around to the side, the window not only gives a great view into the chassis, the glow of the rear fans LEDs floods over the hardware and again floods the table with light through the window. This chassis aside from its material choices really reminds me of a full on Lian Li.

 

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Cases, Cooling & PSU content at our Cases, Cooling & PSU reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Post a Comment about this content

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts

TweakTown Web Poll

Question: Facebook's acquisition of Oculus VR will...

Improve Oculus Rift Development

Hamper Oculus Rift Development

Completely destroy Oculus Rift Development

Let's wait and see, I'm not sure

or View the Results

View More Polls

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases