TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
6,203 Reviews & Articles | 40,051 News Posts
TRENDING NOW: Samsung wants the US government to block GeForce GPU shipments

LanCool First Knight PC-K63 Mid Tower Case Review - Inside the LanCool First Knight PC-K63 Mid Tower Case

A new series of chassis designs is being released by LanCool. Today we are going to look at the new PC-K63 from the First Knight Series of cases.

| Mid-Tower Cases in Cases, Cooling & PSU | Posted: May 20, 2011 2:50 am
TweakTown Rating: 92%Manufacturer: LanCool

Inside the LanCool First Knight PC-K63 Mid tower Case

 

TweakTown image content/4/0/4095_14_lancool_first_knight_pc_k63_mid_tower_case.jpg

 

Once both panels are removed we get a really good look inside the PC-K63. You will find the large white box zip tied to the hard drive bays that are full of extra hardware. It also appears there is wiring near the floor coming out of nowhere, but more on that in a bit.

 

TweakTown image content/4/0/4095_15_lancool_first_knight_pc_k63_mid_tower_case.jpg

 

In the front you can see that only two of the three optical bays come with a tool-less mechanism for mounting devices. The rest of the area behind the fans is taken up with two hard drive racks that can hold three drives each.

 

TweakTown image content/4/0/4095_16_lancool_first_knight_pc_k63_mid_tower_case.jpg

 

Did I mention these are removable? You can install both, the top one, the bottom one, or none at all; it's up to you to decide.

 

TweakTown image content/4/0/4095_17_lancool_first_knight_pc_k63_mid_tower_case.jpg

 

The motherboard tray is separated from both the drive bay area and the floor of the chassis. While it does tend to offer more wiring freedom, a tidy appearance usually isn't all that possible. LanCool has a trick for that! The tray itself has risers already installed for an ATX motherboard, has a large access hole, and four places to tie up loose wiring.

 

TweakTown image content/4/0/4095_18_lancool_first_knight_pc_k63_mid_tower_case.jpg

 

In the back there is the clear 140mm fan and the eight expansion slots. I like that the tool-less mechanism from most Lian Li chassis' has made it over to this case.

 

TweakTown image content/4/0/4095_19_lancool_first_knight_pc_k63_mid_tower_case.jpg

 

Behind the tray we can finally see LanCool's wiring trick. While I have seen similar locks that this system uses, they were typically tabbed where they were needed. Here all the wires get routed into the channel, and via notches on both sides you can adjust where the wiring comes out.

 

TweakTown image content/4/0/4095_20_lancool_first_knight_pc_k63_mid_tower_case.jpg

 

Wiring here covers connections for power and all that, USB 2.0 and HD audio that connect to the motherboard. There is also a really short USB 3.0 cable and all of the case fans are 3-pins with Molex adapters installed for power.

 

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Cases, Cooling & PSU content at our Cases, Cooling & PSU reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Got an opinion on this content? Post a comment below!

Latest News Posts

View More News Posts

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases