TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
5,675 Reviews & Articles | 36,072 News Posts
Weekly Giveaway: Fractal Design Arc Cases Contest (Global Entry!)

LanCool First Knight PC-K63 Mid Tower Case Review - The LanCool First Knight PC-K63 Mid Tower Case

A new series of chassis designs is being released by LanCool. Today we are going to look at the new PC-K63 from the First Knight Series of cases.

| Mid-Tower Cases in Cases, Cooling & PSU | Posted: May 20, 2011 2:50 am
TweakTown Rating: 92%      Manufacturer: LanCool

The LanCool First Knight PC-K63 Mid Tower Case

 

TweakTown image content/4/0/4095_07_lancool_first_knight_pc_k63_mid_tower_case.jpg

 

From the front the PC-K63 has an unusual shape around the optical drive bays and the vented area at the bottom; the shape reminds me of a bowling pin cut off at the painted crown. Even so, from this angle I like what's going on so far.

 

TweakTown image content/4/0/4095_08_lancool_first_knight_pc_k63_mid_tower_case.jpg

 

The top of the chassis houses the I/O and a large area for the pair of 140mm fans under this to blow through the eight louvers.

 

TweakTown image content/4/0/4095_09_lancool_first_knight_pc_k63_mid_tower_case.jpg

 

Going from left to right, you have an e-SATA, USB 3.0, USB 2.0 connections, audio jacks, and the reset and power buttons to finish it off.

 

TweakTown image content/4/0/4095_10_lancool_first_knight_pc_k63_mid_tower_case.jpg

 

Looking at the left of the PC-K63, you first notice the window; at least I did. The shape of the right edge makes your eyes move to the profile of the chassis which has the appearance of the top leaning forward. This is an illusion that allowed enough room for the fans under the top and to house the I/O while keeping just what is needed in materials near the bottom.

 

TweakTown image content/4/0/4095_11_lancool_first_knight_pc_k63_mid_tower_case.jpg

 

The rear of the chassis has a pretty standard bottom mounting PSU layout. The 140mm LED fan that can slide out is placed over a pair of water tubing holes. Moving down, you run into the eight expansion slots with ventilated covers and next to it the chassis is not ventilated. They do, however, add a bit of venting to the right of the power supply.

 

TweakTown image content/4/0/4095_12_lancool_first_knight_pc_k63_mid_tower_case.jpg

 

The right side panel is plain black steel and has a pair of thumbscrews just like the other panel for removal.

 

TweakTown image content/4/0/4095_13_lancool_first_knight_pc_k63_mid_tower_case.jpg

 

Under the chassis you can see it gets supported with large rubber feet. In the rear of the chassis there are more louvers to allow the PSU to breathe, and there is even this clip-in duct filter. If you look hard enough, you can see the pair of black 140mm fans in the top.

 

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Cases, Cooling & PSU content at our Cases, Cooling & PSU reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Post a Comment about this content

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts

Latest Downloads

View More Latest Downloads

TweakTown Web Poll

Question: Did EA kill the Battlefield franchise with the terrible BF4 issues?

Yes, Battlefield is doomed

No, Battlefield will live on strong

I'm not sure, but I know EA needs to improve its game

or View the Results

View More Polls

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases
Get TweakTown updates via Facebook!
Just click the "Like" button below