TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
6,058 Reviews & Articles | 38,953 News Posts
TRENDING NOW: Strap an iPad to your face with AirVR for mobile VR

Mobile Monitor Field Monitor Pro 15.4-Inch Portable LCD Monitor Review - The Box and Field Monitor Pro

Ever wanted just a little more desktop space on the road? The Field Monitor Pro just might be the thing you need.

| Portable Monitors in Displays & Projectors | Posted: May 19, 2011 2:40 am
TweakTown Rating: 82%Manufacturer: Mobile Monitor Technologies

Package and Contents

 

The box the Field Monitor Pro ships in is on the boring side. It is stark white with blue lettering. The "front" has the Mobile Monitor Technologies logo and name. The side carries the name of the model you just purchased. There are two right now; the Monitor2Go and the Field Monitor Pro.

 

TweakTown image content/4/0/4094_02_mobile_monitor_field_monitor_pro_15_4_inch_portable_lcd_monitor_review.jpg

 

TweakTown image content/4/0/4094_03_mobile_monitor_field_monitor_pro_15_4_inch_portable_lcd_monitor_review.jpg

 

Inside you get a very light stash of loot. You get the monitor, a USB cable, the power cable and a drivers CD. Like we said, not much extra, but it is everything you need.

 

TweakTown image content/4/0/4094_04_mobile_monitor_field_monitor_pro_15_4_inch_portable_lcd_monitor_review.jpg

 

TweakTown image content/4/0/4094_14_mobile_monitor_field_monitor_pro_15_4_inch_portable_lcd_monitor_review.jpg

 

The Field Monitor Pro

 

The Field Monitor Pro has a great external surface. It is slightly rubberised which gives it a pretty good resistance to fingerprints, scratches, and also makes it easy to grip.

 

TweakTown image content/4/0/4094_05_mobile_monitor_field_monitor_pro_15_4_inch_portable_lcd_monitor_review.jpg

 

TweakTown image content/4/0/4094_09_mobile_monitor_field_monitor_pro_15_4_inch_portable_lcd_monitor_review.jpg

 

When you first look at it the Field Monitor Pro, it looks a little like a laptop. It only takes a second look to know that is not what you have. The Field Monitor Pro (which we will call the FMP from now on) hinges in the middle. This hinge also allows the monitor screen to rotate around for better viewing, or for a second usage model (which we will show you in a minute).

 

TweakTown image content/4/0/4094_06_mobile_monitor_field_monitor_pro_15_4_inch_portable_lcd_monitor_review.jpg

 

According to Mobile Monitor Technologies, the FMP is aimed at the accounting world. As such, you get a number pad. To be honest with you, I think this feature will work out for other fields as well (like typing IP addresses for IT techs).

 

TweakTown image content/4/0/4094_07_mobile_monitor_field_monitor_pro_15_4_inch_portable_lcd_monitor_review.jpg

 

The FMP also gives you a pair of USB ports to make up for the one that it uses off of your laptop. Right next to this is the brightness controls.

 

TweakTown image content/4/0/4094_08_mobile_monitor_field_monitor_pro_15_4_inch_portable_lcd_monitor_review.jpg

 

On the opposite side you have the power button, the power port and the USB plug. Pretty simple really.

 

TweakTown image content/4/0/4094_09_mobile_monitor_field_monitor_pro_15_4_inch_portable_lcd_monitor_review.jpg

 

TweakTown image content/4/0/4094_10_mobile_monitor_field_monitor_pro_15_4_inch_portable_lcd_monitor_review.jpg

 

As we mentioned, the FMP has a rotating hinge in the center that allows you to rotate the screen to be swivelled around for a better viewing angle. It also allows you to completely spin the monitor around and lay it flat down. This allows you to do one of two things; you can hang it from the wall using the mounting holes or stand the FMP up.

 

TweakTown image content/4/0/4094_11_mobile_monitor_field_monitor_pro_15_4_inch_portable_lcd_monitor_review.jpg

 

TweakTown image content/4/0/4094_12_mobile_monitor_field_monitor_pro_15_4_inch_portable_lcd_monitor_review.jpg

 

TweakTown image content/4/0/4094_13_mobile_monitor_field_monitor_pro_15_4_inch_portable_lcd_monitor_review.jpg

 

The FMP is a nice looking product that although simple in design and execution, is still very well put together. We hope that it performs well once we connect it to our test device.

 

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Displays & Projectors content at our Displays & Projectors reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Got an opinion on this content? Post a comment below!

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases