TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
5,997 Reviews & Articles | 38,719 News Posts
TRENDING NOW: Counter-Strike gamer live streams SWAT team breach into his room

Corsair Obsidian 650D Mid Tower Case Review - The Build and Finished Product

If the pricing and size of the 800D and 700D put you off, Corsair delivers a mid tower from the Obsidian Series. Let's see what the 650D has to offer!

| Mid-Tower Cases in Cases, Cooling & PSU | Posted: May 16, 2011 4:14 pm
TweakTown Rating: 89%      Manufacturer: Corsair

The Build and Finished Product

 

TweakTown image content/4/0/4086_25_corsair_obsidian_650d_mid_tower_case_review.jpg

 

On the left is the body of the 650D. You can see the front is cut only for a 200mm fan with a mesh grill covering it. On the right is the inside of the bezel with the four removable bay covers and the large removable vent at the bottom with a dust filter in it. I like that there are no wires connecting here as well!

 

TweakTown image content/4/0/4086_26_corsair_obsidian_650d_mid_tower_case_review.jpg

 

I slid in the DVD drive and locked it into place with the tool-free mechanism, removed the corresponding bay cover and then snapped the bezel back into place. As long as the components added are black, they should blend well with the front exterior of brushed aluminum.

 

TweakTown image content/4/0/4086_27_corsair_obsidian_650d_mid_tower_case_review.jpg

 

I know it's only an m-ATX board, but I tried to cover everything with it. It fits a large air cooler just fine and still has room for ones like the D-14. Plenty of room for my graphics card, and with the removable drive bays there isn't an issue for even the longest cards. Even with this small build the finished result is very professional looking.

 

TweakTown image content/4/0/4086_28_corsair_obsidian_650d_mid_tower_case_review.jpg

 

Once hardware is inside to see, you can appreciate the placement of the window. Shifting it left gives you a really good view of all of your components and doesn't show the drive bays; something I really don't want to see anyways.

 

TweakTown image content/4/0/4086_29_corsair_obsidian_650d_mid_tower_case_review.jpg

 

As you can see, the pair of USB 3.0 wires are plenty long enough to reach the rear I/O. I would also like to mention that this is one of the only cases that add routing for said cables with its own hole out the back of the case. Otherwise I would have had to route it across the motherboard and out a water cooling hole.

 

TweakTown image content/4/0/4086_30_corsair_obsidian_650d_mid_tower_case_review.jpg

 

Just to emphasize the depth of the distance between the door and the tray, I routed all the wires in one large grouping. Not only did this make the front very clean, but is honestly the only place the cables want to naturally "fall".

 

TweakTown image content/4/0/4086_31_corsair_obsidian_650d_mid_tower_case_review.jpg

 

Powering up the 650D, just like those before it, the only lighting you are going to get is the white glow of the power button and the random flashing of the HDD activity light below it.

 

TweakTown image content/4/0/4086_32_corsair_obsidian_650d_mid_tower_case_review.jpg

 

Of course, I loaded a drive in the dock to make sure it works and I had no issues getting it up and running. At this time I fiddled around with the fan controller to make sure it all works.

 

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Cases, Cooling & PSU content at our Cases, Cooling & PSU reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Got an opinion on this content? Post a comment below!

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts
Check out TweakTown Polls on LockerDome on LockerDome

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases