TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
6,066 Reviews & Articles | 38,988 News Posts
TRENDING NOW: NVIDIA releases the GeForce GTX 980, its most advanced GPU at $549

MSI Z68A-GD80 (Intel Z68) Motherboard Review - BIOS

We check out the new MSI Z68A-GD80 which has got a pretty nice black and blue setup going on. Let's see how it goes.

| Socket LGA 1155 in Motherboards | Posted: May 12, 2011 3:14 am
TweakTown Rating: 92%Manufacturer: MSI

BIOS

 

Like a lot of companies, MSI use a UEFI BIOS. Theirs is very different to that of what we've seen from companies like ASRock and ASUS over the past few months. They call there's "CLiCKBIOS" and while it is initially a little confusing to get a hang of from an enthusiast perspective, the layout doesn't take long to adjust to.

 

TweakTown image content/4/0/4080_03_msi_z68a_gd80_intel_z68_motherboard_review.jpg

 

You can see MSI have really opted for an easy to use BIOS with the areas being clearly marked.

 

TweakTown image content/4/0/4080_04_msi_z68a_gd80_intel_z68_motherboard_review.jpg

 

Going into Green Power, you can see some of the basic settings along with the level certain voltages are at.

 

TweakTown image content/4/0/4080_05_msi_z68a_gd80_intel_z68_motherboard_review.jpg

 

TweakTown image content/4/0/4080_06_msi_z68a_gd80_intel_z68_motherboard_review.jpg

 

TweakTown image content/4/0/4080_07_msi_z68a_gd80_intel_z68_motherboard_review.jpg

 

If we go into Utilities we've got a sub menu that gives us the ability to do Live Update, HDD Back or change the Boot Screen. Here we've also get a Memory Test utility that makes sure your memory is working perfectly. It's good to know ours was.

 

TweakTown image content/4/0/4080_08_msi_z68a_gd80_intel_z68_motherboard_review.jpg

 

TweakTown image content/4/0/4080_09_msi_z68a_gd80_intel_z68_motherboard_review.jpg

 

If we go into the Overclocking section it's here you see most of the advanced BIOS features that you would be accustomed to seeing if you're a BIOS aficionado. Here you can set your RAM speed, voltages, BCLK, CPU Ratio and more.

 

TweakTown image content/4/0/4080_10_msi_z68a_gd80_intel_z68_motherboard_review.jpg

 

TweakTown image content/4/0/4080_11_msi_z68a_gd80_intel_z68_motherboard_review.jpg

 

TweakTown image content/4/0/4080_12_msi_z68a_gd80_intel_z68_motherboard_review.jpg

 

TweakTown image content/4/0/4080_13_msi_z68a_gd80_intel_z68_motherboard_review.jpg

 

Finally, we have the settings section and under that you'll find the option to do things like flash the BIOS, set your boot order, check your system status along with disable and enable features like networking, RAID etc.

 

Initially I found myself getting a little lost just because it was so new to me, but really, it's a clean setup that is easy to use. The good news is that at the same time MSI have "dumbed" options down, going into the overclocking section you do get all the main features you'd want and expect which is great news.

 

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Motherboards content at our Motherboards reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Got an opinion on this content? Post a comment below!

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases