TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
6,197 Reviews & Articles | 39,990 News Posts
TRENDING NOW: Intel teases its Haswell-EX processor, which will feature 36 threads

GIGABYTE X58-USB3 (Intel X58 Express) Motherboard Review - Real-World Tests Part II

If you are looking for an X58 based motherboard for under $200, GIGABYTE has something for you to take a look at.

| Socket LGA 1366 in Motherboards | Posted: May 13, 2011 4:23 pm
TweakTown Rating: 88%Manufacturer: GIGABYTE

Here we have our real gaming tests. Each of the games we chose uses multiple cores and GPUs. They are able to stress the system through use of good AI. Both have decent positional audio that adds impact to the sound subsystem of the board. We ran each game through the level or parts listed and recorded frame per second using FRAPS. This brings the whole game into play.

 

*** A word on gaming as a motherboard test; ***

 

Despite the fact that most games are very GPU limited, we are still noticing HDD and even audio creating issues in gaming performance. Because of this you may see differences in the number of frames rendered per second between different boards. Usually the difference is very small but occasionally, because of bad tracing, poor memory or HDD performance this difference is significant. The issues are often more prevalent in older versions of DirectX but can still pop up in DX10 and 11.

 


Call of Duty Modern Warfare 2 (DX9)

 

Version and / or Patch Used: 1.0
Timedemo or Level Used: First combat until the school is cleared
Developer Homepage: http://www.infinityward.com
Product Homepage: http://modernwarfare2.infinityward.com

 


Most of you know about the game Modern Warfare 2; it caused quite a bit of controversy in the latter half of 2009. The game is a first person shooter with a heavy combat emphasis. It follows the events in the first Modern Warfare very closely and brings back several characters from the original.

 

As with most games in the Call of Duty franchise, it features a heavy AI load. This is not because of a complex AI routine, but more due to the sheer number of enemies in any given combat situation. It is also our single DX9 based game in our testing suite. Settings are shown below.

 

TweakTown image content/4/0/4079_81_gigabyte_x58_usb3_intel_x58_express_motherboard_review.png

 

TweakTown image content/4/0/4079_82_gigabyte_x58_usb3_intel_x58_express_motherboard_review.png

 

TweakTown image content/4/0/4079_54_gigabyte_x58_usb3_intel_x58_express_motherboard_review.png

 


As a gaming platform the X58-USB3 does pretty well when it comes to Modern Warfare 2. It is able to handle the AI (which while simple, involves a large number of bots), the graphics and the audio. With this in mind, you should not have trouble running most DX9 games on this board.

 


Far Cry 2 (DX10)

 

Version and / or Patch Used: V1.00
Timedemo or Level Used: Clearing the Safe house through to the Rescue
Developer Homepage: http://www.ubi.com
Product Homepage: http://www. http://farcry.us.ubi.com

 

Far Cry 2 is a large sandbox style game. There are no levels here so as you move about the island you are on you do not have to wait for the "loading" sign to go away. It is mission driven so each mission is what you would normally think of as the next "level".

 

In the game you take the role of a mercenary who has been sent to kill the Jackal. Unfortunately your malaria kicks in and you end up being found by him. Long story short, you become the errand boy for a local militia leader and run all over the island doing his bidding. Settings we used for testing are shown below.

 

TweakTown image content/4/0/4079_83_gigabyte_x58_usb3_intel_x58_express_motherboard_review.png

 

TweakTown image content/4/0/4079_55_gigabyte_x58_usb3_intel_x58_express_motherboard_review.png

 

Far Cry 2 has an interesting metric going on here. For most of our testing the minimum FPS was in the mid to high 40s. However, the breakaway group kicks things off at 69FPS and heads upward. Most of these are overclocked systems, but both the G1.Assassin and the X58-USB3 are up here, too.

 


Battlefield Bad Company 2 (DX11)

 

Version and / or Patch Used: V1.00
Timedemo or Level Used: From washing up on the beach to the mine fields.
Developer Homepage: http://www.ea.com/
Product Homepage: http://badcompany2.ea.com/

 

Battlefield Bad Company is another sequel and also another game "franchise". Bad Company 2 is also our DX11 Shooter game. The game follows a fictitious B company team on a mission to recover a Japanese defector. This puts you back in World War II (at least for the beginning of the game) while the multi-player game is centered on much more modern combat. For our testing we used the single player mode. Settings are shown below.

 

TweakTown image content/4/0/4079_84_gigabyte_x58_usb3_intel_x58_express_motherboard_review.png

 

TweakTown image content/4/0/4079_56_gigabyte_x58_usb3_intel_x58_express_motherboard_review.png

 

Although the range here is small, the X58-USB3 is very close to the top boards in our test group. This is pretty good considering the price point. Of course, a lot of this is the HD 5870 that we are using for testing, but it is nice to know that the board will not hold you back for Bad Company 2.

 


Gaming Conclusion

 

As far as gaming goes, you could do a lot worse than the GIGABYTE X58-USB3. Even in single card mode you get good frame rates. The audio and LAN performance is also more than acceptable.

 

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Motherboards content at our Motherboards reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Got an opinion on this content? Post a comment below!

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases