TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
6,159 Reviews & Articles | 39,584 News Posts
TRENDING NOW: Star Citizen creator: "I don't care about consoles"

IN WIN BUC Mid Tower Chassis Review - The Build and Finished Product

We don't quite get the naming for the chassis, but we really like what the BUC had to offer. Let's have a look at this new mid tower chassis from IN WIN.

| Mid-Tower Cases in Cases, Cooling & PSU | Posted: May 10, 2011 2:58 am
TweakTown Rating: 87%Manufacturer: IN WIN

The Build and Finished Product

 

TweakTown image content/4/0/4070_23_in_win_buc_mid_tower_chassis_review.jpg

 

Removing the front bezel to add the optical drive I ran into a couple of thing worth mentioning. There is a nice dust filter for the intake fan behind the bezel for the good news. The bad news is that there is all the wiring connected, and the way its routed through the top of the chassis makes it really tough to remove and replace the bezel, be careful!

 

TweakTown image content/4/0/4070_24_in_win_buc_mid_tower_chassis_review.jpg

 

After dealing with the wiring, the work was worth it in my opinion. The drive sits recessed in the front and is barely noticeable, detracting very little form the design.

 

TweakTown image content/4/0/4070_25_in_win_buc_mid_tower_chassis_review.jpg

 

The install was pretty painless. I would have like to see a few more places to tie the wiring to make things a bit tidier, but everything is manageable and stays out of the way. All of the tool-free feature worked as designed and really cuts down on the installation time.

 

TweakTown image content/4/0/4070_26_in_win_buc_mid_tower_chassis_review.jpg

 

Not really much new going on back here. Of course, the components are in, so don't forget to plug in the USB 3.0 cable.

 

TweakTown image content/4/0/4070_27_in_win_buc_mid_tower_chassis_review.jpg

 

Behind the motherboard things look a bit messy. I always like to try to test the room here by grouping wires with the 24-pin, the BUC at the cables for lunch and the door slid right into place. As I mentioned, a couple of punched out tabs for wiring would have been greatly appreciated.

 

TweakTown image content/4/0/4070_28_in_win_buc_mid_tower_chassis_review.jpg

 

Closing things off and getting the BUC ready for its first show under the lights, I figured it was a great time to unlock the hard drive access door and show you what's going on. You can only access three of the drives from this door. I would install your OS in one that doesn't easily pull out of the door, just in case you accidentally pull the wrong drive.

 

TweakTown image content/4/0/4070_29_in_win_buc_mid_tower_chassis_review.jpg

 

Powered up, the chassis is relatively quiet. I had all the fans running with 12V powering each, and while the air flow in the chassis was very good, the noise level was very easy to deal with. As for case lighting, you will have HDD activity at the top left in blue, of which I missed the flicker for this image, and the power LED on the right. In the middle there is the red glow of the IN WIN logo over the blue glow of the intake fan.

 

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Cases, Cooling & PSU content at our Cases, Cooling & PSU reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Got an opinion on this content? Post a comment below!

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases