TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
5,684 Reviews & Articles | 36,179 News Posts
Weekly Giveaway: Fractal Design Arc Cases Contest (Global Entry!)

IN WIN BUC Mid Tower Chassis Review - Inside The IN WIN BUC Mid Tower Case

We don't quite get the naming for the chassis, but we really like what the BUC had to offer. Let's have a look at this new mid tower chassis from IN WIN.

| Mid-Tower Cases in Cases, Cooling & PSU | Posted: May 10, 2011 2:58 am
TweakTown Rating: 87%      Manufacturer: IN WIN

Inside The IN WIN BUC Mid Tower Case

 

TweakTown image content/4/0/4070_13_in_win_buc_mid_tower_chassis_review.jpg

 

Lifting the tabs on the door panels and sliding them to the rear allows them do get out of the way for now. Inside the chassis what hits you first is that color of all the tool-free mechanisms and the fans. In the top hard drive tray you will find the manual, and the hardware box is strapped to the motherboard tray.

 

TweakTown image content/4/0/4070_14_in_win_buc_mid_tower_chassis_review.jpg

 

In the front you have four 5.25" drive bays all with knobe that pull out to unlock, and push in to lock the device in place. The same thing can be said for the floppy drive bay just under it. The five hard drive trays are stiff and take a lot of effort to remove them. While it makes for a very secure fit, it almost thought I was going to break them.

 

TweakTown image content/4/0/4070_15_in_win_buc_mid_tower_chassis_review.jpg

 

The motherboard tray has six wire management holes, and a large hole for CPU back plate access. To install an ATX motherboard, you will use the "bump" risers, if you want to install a m-ATX you need to add a couple of included risers.

 

TweakTown image content/4/0/4070_16_in_win_buc_mid_tower_chassis_review.jpg

 

The back of the chassis holds the 120mm 3-pin powered fan whose blades match the color of the seven tool-free locks on the expansion slots below. A combination of tabs of steel and rubber pads keeps the PSU secure in the bottom.

 

TweakTown image content/4/0/4070_17_in_win_buc_mid_tower_chassis_review.jpg

 

Behind the motherboard tray there is quite a bit of room. Something I didn't pay attention to until now is the stack of hot swappable hard drive wiring and SATA cables. Only the top four are like this, but it is a nice added feature.

 

TweakTown image content/4/0/4070_18_in_win_buc_mid_tower_chassis_review.jpg

 

There is a lot of cabling involved with the hot swap setup added to the typical motherboard connections from the front I/O. You will see, there aren't any issues getting it wired back here.

 

TweakTown image content/4/0/4070_19_in_win_buc_mid_tower_chassis_review.jpg

 

Laying the BUC on its back you can see that under the chassis there is a combination of a plastic frame for the dust filter being designed with the rear feet incorporated into it, with a pair of rubber feet for the front. You also get a peek over the top of the floor at the 120mm fan installed in the top.

 

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Cases, Cooling & PSU content at our Cases, Cooling & PSU reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Post a Comment about this content

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts

Latest Downloads

View More Latest Downloads

TweakTown Web Poll

Question: Did EA kill the Battlefield franchise with the terrible BF4 issues?

Yes, Battlefield is doomed

No, Battlefield will live on strong

I'm not sure, but I know EA needs to improve its game

or View the Results

View More Polls

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases
Get TweakTown updates via Facebook!
Just click the "Like" button below