TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
6,139 Reviews & Articles | 39,450 News Posts
Weekly Giveaway: Win an Antec Case, PSU and Cooler (Global Entry!)

Xigmatek Pantheon Mid Tower Chassis Review - The Build and Finished Product

Marcus Agrippa commissioned the original and Xigmatek commissioned a case with the same name for all of us. Let's see if Xigmatek's Pantheon will stand the test of time!

| Mid-Tower Cases in Cases, Cooling & PSU | Posted: May 5, 2011 2:48 am
TweakTown Rating: 83%Manufacturer: Xigmatek

The Build and Finished Product

 

TweakTown image content/4/0/4059_26_xigmatek_pantheon_mid_tower_chassis_review.jpg

 

To keep things clean inside I installed the optical drive lower in the chassis, but even with it in there, the solid black of the front is only slightly interrupted and keeps its sleek look.

 

TweakTown image content/4/0/4059_27_xigmatek_pantheon_mid_tower_chassis_review.jpg

 

I used an m-ATX board for this build, but there would be no issues getting a full ATX board in here. One thing you will have to watch out for is the longer GPU's. While they may actually fit, the wiring to the drives and the power placement on some cards will cause issues on the right side.

 

TweakTown image content/4/0/4059_28_xigmatek_pantheon_mid_tower_chassis_review.jpg

 

With the hardware in and the door back in place, you can see that the "X" shaped window gives you a good view of the hardware. I like seeing that case manufacturers actually care what the window shows, and we don't have to look at our hard drives and all the wiring.

 

TweakTown image content/4/0/4059_29_xigmatek_pantheon_mid_tower_chassis_review.jpg

 

The rear of the chassis filled out nicely. One thing to point out is that the hit the case took actually made installing the PSU quite a challenge. I am pleased to say that once I screwed in the PSU, the case corner did straighten up and "squared" the case a fair bit from the off kilter corner I saw when I opened the box.

 

TweakTown image content/4/0/4059_30_xigmatek_pantheon_mid_tower_chassis_review.jpg

 

I piled the wiring on thick, and to be honest with the limited holes in the tray I was only left with this option. I am pleased to say that even with this mess, the door panel slid on as if the chassis had nothing behind the tray anyways. The amount of room here is very deceptive.

 

TweakTown image content/4/0/4059_31_xigmatek_pantheon_mid_tower_chassis_review.jpg

 

With the panel back in place you can see that you don't want to intrude on the area next to the hard drives all that much. The more you block off this area, the warmer the hard drives are going to run. A bonus to blocking this hole is that it may force more air from that pair of fans to actually deliver it into the main body of the chassis.

 

TweakTown image content/4/0/4059_32_xigmatek_pantheon_mid_tower_chassis_review.jpg

 

Besides the lights on the trio of fans, the only LED lighting left is the power indicator in blue, and the indicator to the right for hard drive activity, which lights up in red.

 

TweakTown image content/4/0/4059_33_xigmatek_pantheon_mid_tower_chassis_review.jpg

 

Stepping back to take it all in the glow of white LEDs; it does make for a very attractive finished product. Even so, if you are trying to sleep or watch a movie, you simply click the switch and turn off the LED's all together.

 

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Cases, Cooling & PSU content at our Cases, Cooling & PSU reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Got an opinion on this content? Post a comment below!

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases