TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
6,140 Reviews & Articles | 39,464 News Posts
Weekly Giveaway: Win an Antec Case, PSU and Cooler (Global Entry!)

Antec KÜHLER H2O 920 Liquid Cooling CPU Cooler Review - The Software / Antec CC

We were already impressed with the 620, and now Antec releases a version with additional bells and whistles.

| CPU Liquid Coolers in Cases, Cooling & PSU | Posted: May 2, 2011 7:26 pm
TweakTown Rating: 96%Manufacturer: Antec

The Software / Antec CC

 

TweakTown image content/4/0/4051_27_antec_k_hler_h2o_920_liquid_cooling_cpu_cooler_review.png

 

After a number of issues that a new OS install seemed to have fixed, I was able to run the software included with the 920. I sort of skipped ahead before I grabbed my images, and as you can see I am already running a custom profile. Here in the "dashboard" tab the Antec Chill Control software not only has the three profiles to use at the top, it also monitors the coolant temperature, fan speed, pump speed, and noise levels of this new unit from Antec.

 

TweakTown image content/4/0/4051_28_antec_k_hler_h2o_920_liquid_cooling_cpu_cooler_review.png

 

The "graphs" tab gives you exactly what you expect, graphs! Here you can keep an eye on the coolant temperature as well as the fan speeds.

 

TweakTown image content/4/0/4051_29_antec_k_hler_h2o_920_liquid_cooling_cpu_cooler_review.png

 

The "fan control" tab offers you the ability to tell the cooler at what temperature to start the fans ramping. On top of that, the next step allows you to set the top of the fan curve and control at which temperature the fans will run at full speed. The notifications section is for setting the warnings if either the coolant gets too hot or the fans drop below a certain speed.

 

TweakTown image content/4/0/4051_30_antec_k_hler_h2o_920_liquid_cooling_cpu_cooler_review.png

 

The "settings" tab contains the ability to change the display from its native Celsius scale to Farenheit, whether to start minimized or start with Windows on boot up, the rate at which the software logs temperatures and data, and the scale of the charts time frame. At the bottom is the LED lighting controls. Simply use any color value of 0 to 255 in either the red, green, or blue section to make any color you could desire. At the top you will notice there is even the ability to change the skin from night to ocean, or a blue theme.

 

TweakTown image content/4/0/4051_31_antec_k_hler_h2o_920_liquid_cooling_cpu_cooler_review.png

 

Switching the skin just so you can see them both, I reset to the dashboard, and set the custom profile. With the coolant staying around thirty-six degrees, I set a moderate fan speed of 1600 RPM with the pump running full speed all the time (controlled with the bios). The sound level is done with a math equation based on the fans speed. There isn't an actual MIC that would change if another fan was added or if it was in a loud environment, in that instance no matter how loud the area around the unit, the noise level stays the same.

 

TweakTown image content/4/0/4051_32_antec_k_hler_h2o_920_liquid_cooling_cpu_cooler_review.png

 

In silent mode the 920 is indeed that! Just over 600 RPM on the fans, the dB meter isn't registering at 15, and you can see the pump is still going full speed, and quietly I might add.

 

TweakTown image content/4/0/4051_33_antec_k_hler_h2o_920_liquid_cooling_cpu_cooler_review.png

 

Using the Extreme tab you can see the fans kick into action and both the 2300 RPM shown and the 52dB rating both show that this cooler is taking every measure to keep your processor under control.

 

TweakTown image content/4/0/4051_34_antec_k_hler_h2o_920_liquid_cooling_cpu_cooler_review.png

 

There is a help icon in the dashboard to solve any issues you might have with the unit or the software. At the time I tested this feature it would take us to a page that simply said 'Under Construction'. However, the link has since been updated and now takes you to Antec's support site.

 

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Cases, Cooling & PSU content at our Cases, Cooling & PSU reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Got an opinion on this content? Post a comment below!

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases