TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
5,915 Reviews & Articles | 38,114 News Posts

Antec KÜHLER H2O 920 Liquid Cooling CPU Cooler Review - The Antec KÜHLER H2O 920 CPU Cooler

We were already impressed with the 620, and now Antec releases a version with additional bells and whistles.

| CPU Liquid Coolers in Cases, Cooling & PSU | Posted: May 2, 2011 7:26 pm
TweakTown Rating: 96%      Manufacturer: Antec

The Antec KÜHLER H2O 920 CPU Cooler

 

TweakTown image content/4/0/4051_08_antec_k_hler_h2o_920_liquid_cooling_cpu_cooler_review.jpg

 

When I removed the 920 from the packaging I could see there was a lot going on, so I will break it down and hopefully I will cover it all.

 

TweakTown image content/4/0/4051_09_antec_k_hler_h2o_920_liquid_cooling_cpu_cooler_review.jpg

 

The 49mm thick radiator still uses the higher FPI (fins per inch) count as do all of the other Asetek build units. A radiator with a high FPI requires some serious fans to produce good results and is likely why Antec includes 110 CFM fans to cool this unit.

 

TweakTown image content/4/0/4051_10_antec_k_hler_h2o_920_liquid_cooling_cpu_cooler_review.jpg

 

From the side you can see not all of that 49mm of thickness is radiator fins. Both the front and back of the unit have a built in spacing offsetting the fans by about 5mm on each side.

 

TweakTown image content/4/0/4051_11_antec_k_hler_h2o_920_liquid_cooling_cpu_cooler_review.jpg

 

I just found this sticker interesting. Most notably is the 3.1W of power draw. I have to assume that is the draw of the pump and possibly the LEDs. This should result in a pretty powerful head unit, as I remember it CoolIt was using a 1W pump!

 

TweakTown image content/4/0/4051_12_antec_k_hler_h2o_920_liquid_cooling_cpu_cooler_review.jpg

 

The hoses are held tightly in place with the use of a smooth color that locks the tubing onto the barb. I tugged at these a bit and from the abuse I could give it, the units connections held up and no leaks were produced.

 

TweakTown image content/4/0/4051_13_antec_k_hler_h2o_920_liquid_cooling_cpu_cooler_review.jpg

 

The specifications on the 920 say that there is thirteen inches of tubing, well my unit fell just a bit short, and has the same twelve inches that all the other units like this have. The USB connection to allow the software to control the unit is two foot long and will be no issue getting to the bottom of a motherboard.

 

TweakTown image content/4/0/4051_14_antec_k_hler_h2o_920_liquid_cooling_cpu_cooler_review.jpg

 

There are three main connections that are wired to the head unit. On the left is the 5-pin USB connector to allow for full control of the 920. In the middle is a fan lead that terminates in two fan connectors to give power to the included fans. The last connection on the right is to allow power for the pump inside the head unit via a 3-pin connection.

 

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Cases, Cooling & PSU content at our Cases, Cooling & PSU reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Post a Comment about this content

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts

TweakTown Web Poll

Question: Facebook's acquisition of Oculus VR will...

Improve Oculus Rift Development

Hamper Oculus Rift Development

Completely destroy Oculus Rift Development

Let's wait and see, I'm not sure

or View the Results

View More Polls

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases