TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
6,137 Reviews & Articles | 39,436 News Posts
Weekly Giveaway: Win an Antec Case, PSU and Cooler (Global Entry!)

Xigmatek Elysium Super Tower Exclusive Review - The Xigmatek Elysium - Continued

Xigmatek has one of the best full tower cases we've ever used, and it only costs around 200 USD.

| Super-Tower Cases in Cases, Cooling & PSU | Posted: Apr 20, 2011 2:17 am
TweakTown Rating: 96%Manufacturer: Xigmatek

Xigmatek Elysium - Continued

 

TweakTown image content/4/0/4005_14_xigmatek_elysium_super_tower_exclusive_review.jpg

 

There are four locations on the motherboard tray where Xigmatek's Molex 4-pin to three pin fan header can be mounted;w two at the top and two at the bottom. Xigmatek includes two of these very useful circuits with the Elysium. Each circuit has six fan headers; five on one side, the 4-pin connector and one on the other side.

 

TweakTown image content/4/0/4005_15_xigmatek_elysium_super_tower_exclusive_review.jpg

 

Sometimes companies claim a tool-less design, but the first thing you have to grab when installing components is some form of tool. The Elysium isn't one of those cases. Here we see the HDD and ROM bay holders. To release the locking mechanism you simply turn the X 90 degrees.

 

TweakTown image content/4/0/4005_16_xigmatek_elysium_super_tower_exclusive_review.jpg

 

Moving onto the other side, we see that there are 12 5 ΒΌ bays. The case cabling is routed to the top of the case and then put into the chamber where you hide your cable overflow.

 

TweakTown image content/4/0/4005_17_xigmatek_elysium_super_tower_exclusive_review.jpg

 

The Elysium provides a lot of space when looking at the volume available for cable management.

 

TweakTown image content/4/0/4005_18_xigmatek_elysium_super_tower_exclusive_review.jpg

 

Here we see the depth available. The outside of the panel rests flush with the farthest distance shown here, so you have a hair more than 1 inch to fit your cables.

 

TweakTown image content/4/0/4005_19_xigmatek_elysium_super_tower_exclusive_review.jpg

 

The front of the Elysium is all business with a brushed aluminum track on each side and a mesh black array of drive bays. Each drive bay cover has a thin dust filter that can be removed for cleaning. There are two oversized LEDs to indicate power and HDD activity. The front panel can be easily removed by gripping the bottom and giving it a firm tug. This makes cleaning the filters very easy and also giving you the ability to extract covers without needing to open the side panel.

 

TweakTown image content/4/0/4005_20_xigmatek_elysium_super_tower_exclusive_review.jpg

 

Since I normally review storage products, the top panel is one of my favorite features. Xigmatek delivered on their promise made one year ago on getting me a case that included two USB 3.0 ports and a HDD / SSD dock where I could easily insert both 2.5" and 3.5" storage drives. Also included are eSATA and dual USB 2.0 ports.

 

The large, really nice power button is also located on the top of the case. What makes this button so cool is that it only pressed down a millimeter, maybe even less. A reset button is also on the top, but all the way to the right hand side.

 

TweakTown image content/4/0/4005_21_xigmatek_elysium_super_tower_exclusive_review.jpg

 

There were very few things that I disliked about the Xigmatek Elysium, but this is one of them. The plastic peek-a-boo door that hides the connectors is made of plastic and can bind when opening or closing. I think most people are just going to leave theirs open, but then again, when you do that dust can get in there and take quite a bit of time to be cleaned out. I really wish the sliding door was made of metal so it would have that firm feel to go along with the rest of the case.

 

TweakTown image content/4/0/4005_22_xigmatek_elysium_super_tower_exclusive_review.jpg

 

The back of the Elysium has quite a bit going on. The first thing you'll notice is the 10 PCI brackets that are needed for Quad SLI configurations. There are also seven openings for water cooling. I'm not really sure why anyone would need to run exterior water cooling with so much room on the inside of the case, but if you need them, they are there.

 

The PSU cover also has an opening for an 80mm fan and this cover can be used for either the top or the bottom of the case.

 

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Cases, Cooling & PSU content at our Cases, Cooling & PSU reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Got an opinion on this content? Post a comment below!

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases