TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
6,137 Reviews & Articles | 39,429 News Posts
Weekly Giveaway: Win an Antec Case, PSU and Cooler (Global Entry!)

GIGABYTE G1.Assassin (Intel X58 Express) Gaming Motherboard - Real-World Tests Part II

GIGABYTE come out all guns blazing with the X58 powered G1.Assassin and today we'll see if they manage to hit their target for the gaming masses.

| Socket LGA 1366 in Motherboards | Posted: Apr 6, 2011 4:17 pm
TweakTown Rating: 91%Manufacturer: GIGABYTE

Here we have our real gaming tests. Each of the games we chose uses multiple cores and GPUs. They are able to stress the system through use of good AI. Both have decent positional audio that adds impact to the sound subsystem of the board. We ran each game through the level or parts listed and recorded frame per second using FRAPS. This brings the whole game into play.

 

*** A word on gaming as a motherboard test; ***

 

Despite the fact that most games are very GPU limited, we are still noticing HDD and even audio creating issues in gaming performance. Because of this you may see differences in the number of frames rendered per second between different boards. Usually the difference is very small but occasionally, because of bad tracing, poor memory or HDD performance this difference is significant. The issues are often more prevalent in older versions of DirectX but can still pop up in DX10 and 11.

 


Call of Duty Modern Warfare 2 (DX9)

 

Version and / or Patch Used: 1.0
Timedemo or Level Used: First combat until the school is cleared
Developer Homepage: http://www.infinityward.com
Product Homepage: http://modernwarfare2.infinityward.com

 

Most of you know about the game Modern Warfare 2, it caused quite a bit of controversy in the latter half of 2009. The game is a first person shooter with a heavy combat emphasis. It follows the events in the first Modern Warfare very closely and brings back several characters from the original.

 

As with most games in the Call of Duty franchise it features a heavy AI load. This is not because of a complex AI routine, but more due to the sheer number of enemies in any given combat situation. It is also our single DX9 based game in our testing suite. Settings are shown below.

 

TweakTown image content/3/9/3984_81_gigabyte_g1_assassin_intel_x58_express_gaming_motherboard.png

 

TweakTown image content/3/9/3984_82_gigabyte_g1_assassin_intel_x58_express_gaming_motherboard.png

 

TweakTown image content/3/9/3984_57_gigabyte_g1_assassin_intel_x58_express_gaming_motherboard.png

 

The G1.Assassin does very well in Modern Warfare 2. We are happy to see the numbers up where they are. Of course, the numbers are very close together, but still, I was getting a little worried to see some of the results early on. The audio quality in this game was also outstanding thanks to the Creative X-Fi audio card built into the board.

 


Far Cry 2 (DX10)

 

Version and / or Patch Used: V1.00
Timedemo or Level Used: Clearing the Safe house through to the Rescue
Developer Homepage: http://www.ubi.com
Product Homepage: http://www. http://farcry.us.ubi.com

 

Far Cry 2 is a large sandbox style game. There are no levels here so as you move about the island you are on you do not have to wait for the "loading" sign to go away. It is mission driven so each mission is what you would normally think of as the next "level".

 

In the game you take the role of a mercenary who has been sent to kill the Jackal. Unfortunately your malaria kicks in and you end up being found by him. Long story short, you become the errand boy for a local militia leader and run all over the island doing his bidding. Settings we used for testing are shown below.

 

TweakTown image content/3/9/3984_83_gigabyte_g1_assassin_intel_x58_express_gaming_motherboard.png

 

TweakTown image content/3/9/3984_58_gigabyte_g1_assassin_intel_x58_express_gaming_motherboard.png

 

Wow, ok, now here is something. We double and triple checked these numbers and they are accurate. Looking into the situation further, it appears that the audio in Far Cry2 is pretty intensive. This means that on boards with a CPU driven CODEC you are going to take a performance hit. Not so on the Assassin, though.

 


Battlefield Bad Company 2 (DX11)

 

Version and / or Patch Used: V1.00
Timedemo or Level Used: From washing up on the beach to the mine fields.
Developer Homepage: http://www.ea.com/
Product Homepage: http://badcompany2.ea.com/

 

Battlefield Bad Company is another sequel and also another game "franchise". Bad Company 2 is also our DX11 Shooter game. The game follows a fictitious B company team on a mission to recover a Japanese defector. This puts you back in World War II (at least for the beginning of the game) while the multi-player game is centered on much more modern combat. For our testing we used the single player mode. Settings are shown below.

 

TweakTown image content/3/9/3984_84_gigabyte_g1_assassin_intel_x58_express_gaming_motherboard.png

 

TweakTown image content/3/9/3984_59_gigabyte_g1_assassin_intel_x58_express_gaming_motherboard.png

 

Well, from top of the world the G1 drops back a few levels. It is still a good board if Bad Company 2 is your game.

 

Gaming Conclusion

 

While the FPS were not as high as some of the other boards we tested, the one thing that the G1 Assassin has that the others do not is a dedicated audio processor. This does help with performance even if it is not noticeable in the actual frame rate. We were very impressed with the audio quality as well; it even passed our Tube Amp test.

 

The gaming performance over the internet was excellent once we had things dialed in on our router.

 

In all we can see the G1.Assassin as a very solid gaming board, especially if you are looking for top end audio and networking.

 

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Motherboards content at our Motherboards reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Got an opinion on this content? Post a comment below!

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases