TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
6,133 Reviews & Articles | 39,390 News Posts

Thermaltake Armor A30 SFF Chassis Review - The Build and Finished Product

The smallest piece of Armor in the arsenal at Thermaltake delivers everything a gamer needs in the Small Form Factor A30 Gaming Cube.

| Small Form Factor Cases in Cases, Cooling & PSU | Posted: Apr 5, 2011 2:12 pm
TweakTown Rating: 94%Manufacturer: Thermaltake

The Build and Finished Product

 

TweakTown image content/3/9/3981_23_thermaltake_armor_a30_sff_chassis_review.jpg

 

Now we get into the sub-assemblies. The motherboard tray takes everything before you need to slide this into the A30. One thing to watch out for is that there is only 90mm of CPU cooler clearance.

 

TweakTown image content/3/9/3981_24_thermaltake_armor_a30_sff_chassis_review.jpg

 

I used the bottom hard drive install option, while the top slot would be cooled better by the intake fan; this image would look funny with the drive hanging upside down from the top of the rack.

 

TweakTown image content/3/9/3981_25_thermaltake_armor_a30_sff_chassis_review.jpg

 

For my testing needs, I just installed the DVD drive to the optical rack. I did play around with the 2.5" mounting system, and it seemed to fit well, but I removed it as I didn't need it for testing.

 

TweakTown image content/3/9/3981_26_thermaltake_armor_a30_sff_chassis_review.jpg

 

Last of the assemblies is as simple as screwing in four screws. Now that we have all the key players ready, let's start putting them all together.

 

TweakTown image content/3/9/3981_27_thermaltake_armor_a30_sff_chassis_review.jpg

 

Sliding the motherboard tray and hard drive rack back in gets things underway! At this time you are going to want to wire the motherboard from the I/O and get all the SATA cabling ready.

 

TweakTown image content/3/9/3981_28_thermaltake_armor_a30_sff_chassis_review.jpg

 

Then install the PSU assembly and the optical drive rack. The PSU rack took a bit of time to keep the wiring clean, but still both units went back into place with no issues.

 

TweakTown image content/3/9/3981_29_thermaltake_armor_a30_sff_chassis_review.jpg

 

All assembled and ready for power, nothing much in the front changes with this build except the addition of my rather beat up looking DVD drive.

 

TweakTown image content/3/9/3981_30_thermaltake_armor_a30_sff_chassis_review.jpg

 

The left side of the chassis gives you a very nice view of any graphics card or possibly even a look at you soundcard or network card depending on your specific needs.

 

TweakTown image content/3/9/3981_31_thermaltake_armor_a30_sff_chassis_review.jpg

 

One thing worth a mention in the back is the length of the USB 3.0 cable. While I had no issues getting it to connect, when you wire it cleanly as not to be seen in the window, it comes up a bit short.

 

TweakTown image content/3/9/3981_32_thermaltake_armor_a30_sff_chassis_review.jpg

 

Looking in through the window on this side you can get a peek at your air cooling and motherboard, all the way down to your first expansion card. If you plan a build with onboard solutions, you can see clean through this chassis once built.

 

TweakTown image content/3/9/3981_33_thermaltake_armor_a30_sff_chassis_review.jpg

 

Under power the A30 comes to life with an almost inaudible hum from the fans, but splashes around quite a bit of blue LED lighting from the front and top. I for one am very impressed!

 

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Cases, Cooling & PSU content at our Cases, Cooling & PSU reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Got an opinion on this content? Post a comment below!

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases