TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
6,139 Reviews & Articles | 39,461 News Posts
Weekly Giveaway: Win an Antec Case, PSU and Cooler (Global Entry!)

Thecus N4200 PRO Review - The 4-Bay, Battery Backup NAS with Many Features - The Thecus N4200 PRO

Thecus gives the N4200 the PRO treatment. With such a good base to start with, how could Thecus have improved upon such a good NAS? We will show you today.

| SOHO NAS/DAS in Storage | Posted: Apr 1, 2011 5:47 pm
TweakTown Rating: 92%Manufacturer: Thecus

The Thecus N4200 PRO

 

TweakTown image content/3/9/3975_09_thecus_n4200_pro_review_the_4_bay_battery_backup_nas_with_many_features.jpg

 

The N4200 PRO has an average height when compared to other 4-bay NAS servers we've looked at in the past. The battery backup system doesn't grow the enclosure, something that you might think would happen.

 

On the front of the NAS you will find five buttons for operating the NAS. At the bottom left is a power button. The other four buttons are just under the main display. These buttons allow the user to change almost all of the settings of the NAS and also change the display to an information mode where you can see IP settings.

 

All of the drives are held behind the front door.

 

TweakTown image content/3/9/3975_10_thecus_n4200_pro_review_the_4_bay_battery_backup_nas_with_many_features.jpg

 

With the front door open we get to see the four HDD trays. Each tray is lockable so the drives can be secured. One note about the trays - Thecus now supports 2.5" HDDs as well as the standard 3.5" drives.

 

TweakTown image content/3/9/3975_11_thecus_n4200_pro_review_the_4_bay_battery_backup_nas_with_many_features.jpg

 

The side of the N4200 PRO is steel with a powder coated exterior finish.

 

TweakTown image content/3/9/3975_12_thecus_n4200_pro_review_the_4_bay_battery_backup_nas_with_many_features.jpg

 

The front of the Thecus N4200 PRO is impressive, but the back is where most of the external connections are made. Starting at the bottom and working our way up, we see two gigabit Ethernet connections that can be teamed for higher bandwidth, used independently for connection to two networks, or can be used for fail over.

 

Just above the Ethernet ports are the USB 2.0 and eSATA ports. If you use the eSATA ports you can connect up to six HDDs to the N4200 PRO. The four USB 2.0 ports can be used for printers, external UPS systems or any number of other USB 2.0 devices.

 

Moving into the power area of the N4200 PRO, we see the female connector where the external power supply connects to the NAS and the slot where the actual battery gets installed. I really like the external power supply for the N4200 PRO since most malfunctions in PCs are in the power supply. If you take that thinking over to NAS servers, it means that if your N4200 PRO has an issue with power you can purchase another power supply and install it without taking apart your NAS.

 

At the very top of the NAS Thecus has included a PCIe port for installing a 10 gigabit Ethernet module.

 

TweakTown image content/3/9/3975_13_thecus_n4200_pro_review_the_4_bay_battery_backup_nas_with_many_features.jpg

 

The other side of the NAS is identical to the first side with a steel panel that wraps around the entire NAS for durability and a black powder coated, scratch free finish. Also, there are no vents on the sides so all of the airflow generated by the NAS passes over the internal HDDs.

 

TweakTown image content/3/9/3975_14_thecus_n4200_pro_review_the_4_bay_battery_backup_nas_with_many_features.jpg

 

Here we see the 15.2V 1000mAh battery used to provide power to the NAS when power us disrupted. Users will have enough time to finish what they are doing during a power outage and shut the N4200 PRO down safely.

 

TweakTown image content/3/9/3975_15_thecus_n4200_pro_review_the_4_bay_battery_backup_nas_with_many_features.jpg

 

The N4200 PRO has another unique feature not found on NAS servers in this price category. The dual display has an innovative OLED display on the top of the front that gives users a clarity never before seen on a NAS server. The display running along the right side of the NAS shows us information related to the drives and network connections.

 

TweakTown image content/3/9/3975_16_thecus_n4200_pro_review_the_4_bay_battery_backup_nas_with_many_features.jpg

 

When it comes to accessories Thecus goes the extra mile to make setup very easy, even for first time users. Several printed manuals are included and an Ethernet cable is also included.

 

TweakTown image content/3/9/3975_17_thecus_n4200_pro_review_the_4_bay_battery_backup_nas_with_many_features.jpg

 

Here we see the external power supply used with the main NAS unit and the package of screws used to mount the drives and the keys used to lock the drive trays into the N4200 PRO.

 

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Storage content at our Storage reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Got an opinion on this content? Post a comment below!

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases