TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
6,009 Reviews & Articles | 38,766 News Posts

Rosewill Thor Full Tower Chassis Review - The Build and Finished Product

The Thor full tower from Rosewill has me intrigued to say the least. Let's see if it is truly "the best choice in value".

| Full-Tower Cases in Cases, Cooling & PSU | Posted: Mar 31, 2011 10:09 am
TweakTown Rating: 77%Manufacturer: Rosewill

The Build and Finished Product

 

TweakTown image content/3/9/3969_28_rosewill_thor_full_tower_chassis_review.jpg

 

Removing the front bezel to insert the drive, I noticed that this chassis is attached to it by a pair of wires to a hard to see switch for the LED lighting on the outside. In the bezel all of the drive bay covers are backed with a screen for dust filters. The lower half has a screen backed with honeycomb mesh to hold it in place.

 

TweakTown image content/3/9/3969_29_rosewill_thor_full_tower_chassis_review.jpg

 

To remove the bay covers you must slide off the top half of the side. Removing both pieces gives you access to the locking tabs. When you got the ones off you need, just slide the side pieces back on and insert he drives.

 

TweakTown image content/3/9/3969_30_rosewill_thor_full_tower_chassis_review.jpg

 

The drive doesn't detract much from the front, even something like a dual bay XSPC res with the black cover plate would look good with this design.

 

TweakTown image content/3/9/3969_31_rosewill_thor_full_tower_chassis_review.jpg

 

Getting ready to test as the build comes to an end, I made sure to open the louvers for the best airflow the case can offer for testing.

 

TweakTown image content/3/9/3969_32_rosewill_thor_full_tower_chassis_review.jpg

 

This case makes my ATX motherboard look small. You can see there is plenty of room for XL-ATX, but this chassis does stop short of fitting a board like the SR-2 from EVGA. It will, however, fit the 4-Way SLI from EVGA, and the GI Assassin from GIGABYTE. Whatever you house in here, the finished product is very tidy.

 

TweakTown image content/3/9/3969_33_rosewill_thor_full_tower_chassis_review.jpg

 

The rear of the chassis doesn't change much. If you do plan to use the USB 3.0 offered in the front, you will need to run the wire through one of the four holes at the top to reach the rear I/O.

 

TweakTown image content/3/9/3969_34_rosewill_thor_full_tower_chassis_review.jpg

 

Behind the tray I was able to run and hide all the wires from my power supply. As you can see, I bunched most of the wiring around the 24-pin cable, the rest I just tied in where it was convenient. Even with the huge bulk of wiring, the door panel went on as if it weren't even there.

 

TweakTown image content/3/9/3969_35_rosewill_thor_full_tower_chassis_review.jpg

 

Houston, we have a problem! - I will get into more detail in the conclusion, but I powered up the chassis and went right to the camera to get all the light in action. Here is what I got. Reason why? - Just after this I saw a trail of white smoke come out of the front I/O panel. While the USB, audio and e-SATA are still functioning, the fan controllers or the lighting on the sides do not. I have made contact with Rosewill about this issue.

 

TweakTown image content/3/9/3969_36_rosewill_thor_full_tower_chassis_review.jpg

 

Taking one last look at a really nice case that I wish I knew what went wrong! Otherwise, it's a sleek looking case with a very nice set of features.

 

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Cases, Cooling & PSU content at our Cases, Cooling & PSU reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Got an opinion on this content? Post a comment below!

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts
Check out TweakTown Polls on LockerDome on LockerDome

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases