TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
5,677 Reviews & Articles | 36,081 News Posts
Weekly Giveaway: Fractal Design Arc Cases Contest (Global Entry!)

Rosewill Thor Full Tower Chassis Review - Inside The Rosewill Thor Full Tower Case

The Thor full tower from Rosewill has me intrigued to say the least. Let's see if it is truly "the best choice in value".

| Full-Tower Cases in Cases, Cooling & PSU | Posted: Mar 31, 2011 10:09 am
TweakTown Rating: 77%      Manufacturer: Rosewill

Inside The Rosewill Thor Full Tower Case

 

TweakTown image content/3/9/3969_15_rosewill_thor_full_tower_chassis_review.jpg

 

Removing the door, we can take a peek at the 3-pin powered 230mm fan on the reverse. This nine blade fan is rated for 0.24 amps and 2.88 watts.

 

TweakTown image content/3/9/3969_16_rosewill_thor_full_tower_chassis_review.jpg

 

Inside the Thor, the wiring is tidy and doesn't move around much. The hardware that was supposed to be tied to the inside of the drive bays was roaming free, and I found two bits of broken plastic, which I don't even think belong to this chassis.

 

TweakTown image content/3/9/3969_17_rosewill_thor_full_tower_chassis_review.jpg

 

Up front there are the six 5.25" bays with solid tool-free locks. The bottom houses the six steel hard drive or SSD trays behind the clear 230mm fan that has red LEDs in it.

 

TweakTown image content/3/9/3969_18_rosewill_thor_full_tower_chassis_review.jpg

 

The motherboard tray offers full support up to XL-ATX motherboards and has plenty of options to wire things cleanly, and the large hole nearest the power supply makes routing everything behind the tray a snap.

 

TweakTown image content/3/9/3969_19_rosewill_thor_full_tower_chassis_review.jpg

 

In the rear you can see the black 140mm fan included in the Thor, the ten tool-free clamps for the expansion slots, and the padded power supply mounting hole with ventilation and a dust cover below it.

 

TweakTown image content/3/9/3969_20_rosewill_thor_full_tower_chassis_review.jpg

 

There is plenty of room behind the tray for the thickest wiring. Even when you think its close, the way the door swings closed, you don't have to worry as much as you do with slide on doors.

 

TweakTown image content/3/9/3969_21_rosewill_thor_full_tower_chassis_review.jpg

 

There is a hole very near al the wiring from the I/O I pulled all this through the back. The wiring is quite extensive. Not only does it cover all the basics, there is USB 3.0 in there, fan control power leads, and six fan power leads.

 

TweakTown image content/3/9/3969_22_rosewill_thor_full_tower_chassis_review.jpg

 

The bottom of the chassis gets supported with the large plastic feet with rubber pads. The power supply has this easily removable dust cover, but the 140mm fan in front of it has a screwed in dust cover. If you look just over the bottom, you can see the 230mm fan strapped in the roof of the Thor.

 

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Cases, Cooling & PSU content at our Cases, Cooling & PSU reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Post a Comment about this content

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts

Latest Downloads

View More Latest Downloads

TweakTown Web Poll

Question: Did EA kill the Battlefield franchise with the terrible BF4 issues?

Yes, Battlefield is doomed

No, Battlefield will live on strong

I'm not sure, but I know EA needs to improve its game

or View the Results

View More Polls

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases
Get TweakTown updates via Facebook!
Just click the "Like" button below