TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
5,676 Reviews & Articles | 36,072 News Posts
Weekly Giveaway: Fractal Design Arc Cases Contest (Global Entry!)

J&W MINIX 890GX-USB3 Mini-ITX (AMD 890GX) Motherboard - BIOS and Overclocking

You hear everyone saying "Go Big!". Well, J&W went small instead, but in a very big way with their MINIX line-up.

| Socket AM3/AM3+ in Motherboards | Posted: Mar 31, 2011 4:16 am
TweakTown Rating: 82%      Manufacturer: J&W

BIOS

 

The BIOS on the MINIX is also sort of small. You get some of the same basic functions you would find in a regular sized board, but there are also many that are absent.

 

TweakTown image content/3/9/3968_18_j_w_minix_890gx_usb3_mini_itx_amd_890gx_motherboard.jpg

 

In the Advanced menu you can see most of the typical adjustments. Even in the advanced CPU section things are not that far off of the mark. You can also see that we were able to get the MINIX to post with the 1100T that we wanted to use. So far, so good for pushing that 95Watt envelope!

 

TweakTown image content/3/9/3968_19_j_w_minix_890gx_usb3_mini_itx_amd_890gx_motherboard.jpg

 

TweakTown image content/3/9/3968_20_j_w_minix_890gx_usb3_mini_itx_amd_890gx_motherboard.jpg

 

The Advanced Northbridge page has most of the same options you would have on any 890GX motherboard.

 

TweakTown image content/3/9/3968_21_j_w_minix_890gx_usb3_mini_itx_amd_890gx_motherboard.jpg

 

TweakTown image content/3/9/3968_22_j_w_minix_890gx_usb3_mini_itx_amd_890gx_motherboard.jpg

 

The same can be said with the Southbridge page.

 

TweakTown image content/3/9/3968_23_j_w_minix_890gx_usb3_mini_itx_amd_890gx_motherboard.jpg

 

The Onboard device configuration page...well... it looks like most other AMD based systems.

 

TweakTown image content/3/9/3968_24_j_w_minix_890gx_usb3_mini_itx_amd_890gx_motherboard.jpg

 

Ok...Umm, there is an overclocking section on the MINIX 890GX-USB3. It shows up as the JUSTw00t! option in the BIOS. It is fairly light on options, but we suppose it could be used to get a few more MHz out of a CPU as long as you keep things under control power wise.

 

TweakTown image content/3/9/3968_26_j_w_minix_890gx_usb3_mini_itx_amd_890gx_motherboard.jpg

 

Overclocking

 

After seeing the JUSTw00t! section in the BIOS I had high hopes that I would get some sort of overclock out of the MINIX 890GX-USB3. However, that was not to be. The board did not lockup, or fail to post for that matter, it just would not accept the overclock no matter what I put in. I even checked multiple times to make sure the settings were in the BIOS. They were, it is just that the board was not applying them at all. We imagine that this is due to the 1100T we used and that if you drop in a CPU that comes in under that curve, you will have much better success.

 

TweakTown image content/3/9/3968_100_j_w_minix_890gx_usb3_mini_itx_amd_890gx_motherboard.png

 

Important Editor Note: Our maximum overclocking result is the best result we managed in our limited time of testing the motherboard. Due to time constraints we weren't able to tweak the motherboard to the absolute maximum and find the highest possible FSB, as this could take days to find properly. We do however spend at least a few hours overclocking every motherboard to try and find the highest possible overclock in that time frame. You may or may not be able to overclock higher if you spend more time tweaking or as new BIOS updates are released. "Burn-in" time might also come into play if you believe in that.

 

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Motherboards content at our Motherboards reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Post a Comment about this content

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts

Latest Downloads

View More Latest Downloads

TweakTown Web Poll

Question: Did EA kill the Battlefield franchise with the terrible BF4 issues?

Yes, Battlefield is doomed

No, Battlefield will live on strong

I'm not sure, but I know EA needs to improve its game

or View the Results

View More Polls

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases
Get TweakTown updates via Facebook!
Just click the "Like" button below