TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
6,063 Reviews & Articles | 38,966 News Posts

Thermaltake V9 BlacX Edition Mid Tower Chassis - Inside The Thermaltake V9 BlacX Edition Mid Tower Case

We see the V9 BlacX Edition is getting rave reviews, so now is the time where we get to see what all the hype is about!

| Mid-Tower Cases in Cases, Cooling & PSU | Posted: Mar 25, 2011 4:50 am
TweakTown Rating: 95%Manufacturer: Thermaltake

Inside The Thermaltake V9 BlacX Edition Mid Tower Case

 

TweakTown image content/3/9/3953_16_thermaltake_v9_blacx_edition_mid_tower_chassis.jpg

 

Just in case you couldn't see this from the previous shot of the left side of the chassis. Thermaltake placed both their name and slogan at the bottom of the window.

 

TweakTown image content/3/9/3953_17_thermaltake_v9_blacx_edition_mid_tower_chassis.jpg

 

I like the looks of the all black interior and at first glance it looks pretty well apportioned with features and ease of use.

 

TweakTown image content/3/9/3953_18_thermaltake_v9_blacx_edition_mid_tower_chassis.jpg

 

As I mentioned, there are technically four 5.25" bays, but since the Dock takes up part of the first bay, Thermaltake ships the rack with only three tool-less locks. They are clearly marked locked and unlocked on the tabs, and just a simple twist either releases them or locks them back into place. The other side will require you to use screws for a more secure mount, but I found these latches worked very well. Just below the 5.25" bays you will find a pair of 3.5" bays in case you have plans to install a floppy drive, or possibly a smaller bay device such as a fan controller or card reader.

 

TweakTown image content/3/9/3953_19_thermaltake_v9_blacx_edition_mid_tower_chassis.jpg

 

On the bottom of the drive rack Thermaltake offers room for up to five 3.5" hard drives. One thing I am missing here and that is some sort of adapter to install a 2.5" SSD or laptop drive.

 

TweakTown image content/3/9/3953_20_thermaltake_v9_blacx_edition_mid_tower_chassis.jpg

 

The motherboard tray is labeled clearly for the risers you must install. The tray offers six risers as raised bumps in the tray, so you only need to install a few for m-ATX, or the same amount for an ATX board, three. Thermaltake also offers a CPU access hole for those who swap coolers a lot.

 

TweakTown image content/3/9/3953_21_thermaltake_v9_blacx_edition_mid_tower_chassis.jpg

 

The wiring on the whole is short in length, but as you will soon see, i had no issues with the shorter lengths. Here you have connectivity for the HD Audio, USB, 2.0, fan power leads, and the power, reset, HDD activity, and power LED connections.

 

TweakTown image content/3/9/3953_22_thermaltake_v9_blacx_edition_mid_tower_chassis.jpg

 

Under the 120mm exhaust fan you run into a set of clips that I have yet to see used. While the expansion slot covers will break away when you need to use them, once the card is in place it gets locked with these tabs. To unlock them you simply lift the large tab and slide it to the left. To lock the card into place, slide the latch to the right, align the pin, and then push the tab down to lock it into place.

 

TweakTown image content/3/9/3953_23_thermaltake_v9_blacx_edition_mid_tower_chassis.jpg

 

There is plenty of room at the bottom of the case to send wires from the PSU to the hard drives. The motherboard is too close to the door panel to be of any use to hide wiring, and is likely why the tray doesn't offer any holes for wire management.

 

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Cases, Cooling & PSU content at our Cases, Cooling & PSU reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Got an opinion on this content? Post a comment below!

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases