TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
6,070 Reviews & Articles | 38,989 News Posts

Super Flower Golden King 550W Power Supply Review - Inside the Box

Super Flower brings the bling with its first 80Plus Platinum power supply.

| Other PSUs in Cases, Cooling & PSU | Posted: Mar 22, 2011 10:17 am
TweakTown Rating: 87%Manufacturer: Super Flower

Inside the Box

 

TweakTown image content/3/9/3945_07_super_flower_golden_king_550w_power_supply_review.jpg

 

Sliding things out of the box we find the Golden King 550W power supply wrapped in bubble wrap and surrounded by cardboard and all of the various cables for the unit. Not exactly the greatest protection we have seen to protect the unit during shipping and handling, but it obviously works well since the unit arrived undamaged.

 

TweakTown image content/3/9/3945_08_super_flower_golden_king_550w_power_supply_review.jpg

 

The Golden King comes in the standard matte black finish that a majority of power supplies come in these days. On this side of the PSU, we find the Golden King logo paired with the 80Plus Platinum logo and Super Flower's web address.

 

TweakTown image content/3/9/3945_09_super_flower_golden_king_550w_power_supply_review.jpg

 

The other side has the I/O specification label and serial number.

 

TweakTown image content/3/9/3945_10_super_flower_golden_king_550w_power_supply_review.jpg

 

On the back, we have a very large honeycomb mesh grill allowing for maximum airflow to vent the heat.

 

TweakTown image content/3/9/3945_11_super_flower_golden_king_550w_power_supply_review.jpg

 

Moving to the front, we find the modular connections. All of these are universal so that any modular cable can be plugged into any connector. Note that the bottom three connections have rubber plugs covering them. The unit ships with all six of them covered and we removed the top three so you could see the difference. For those that are in dusty conditions, this should help keep unused connectors clean and dust free for future use.

 

TweakTown image content/3/9/3945_12_super_flower_golden_king_550w_power_supply_review.jpg

 

While the top is just a blank slate, the bottom houses the large 140mm fan that cools the unit. It contrasts with the unit quite well.

 

TweakTown image content/3/9/3945_13_super_flower_golden_king_550w_power_supply_review.jpg

 

Also included in the box are the modular cables, AC input cord, mounting screws, user manual, and a note telling you that it is normal for the fan not to start running immediately upon the power supply switching on.

 

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Cases, Cooling & PSU content at our Cases, Cooling & PSU reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Got an opinion on this content? Post a comment below!

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases