TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
6,142 Reviews & Articles | 39,484 News Posts
Weekly Giveaway: Win an Antec Case, PSU and Cooler (Global Entry!)

Cooler Master Test Bench V1.0 Open Air Chassis Review - The Cooler Master Test Bench V1.0 Open Air Chassis

I needed a chassis to fit my needs that inspired an idea. Today lies what could be the ideal ticket.

| Open Air Cases in Cases, Cooling & PSU | Posted: Mar 18, 2011 5:16 pm
TweakTown Rating: 86%Manufacturer: Cooler Master

The Cooler Master Test Bench V1.0 (CL-001-KKN1-GP) Open Air Chassis

 

TweakTown image content/3/9/3937_08_cooler_master_test_bench_v1_0_open_air_chassis_review.jpg

 

You can see what I mean when I said the design is simple. The Test Bench V1.0 offers just the necessities to get the system under way. Here we can see a large open area on the left for drives and wiring, and a matching large area to the right. This time though, you have room for the power supply just behind the pair of buttons.

 

TweakTown image content/3/9/3937_09_cooler_master_test_bench_v1_0_open_air_chassis_review.jpg

 

The green button is for powering the motherboard and the red button is for reset. Both buttons are set into this steel panel that also carries the Cooler Master naming.

 

TweakTown image content/3/9/3937_10_cooler_master_test_bench_v1_0_open_air_chassis_review.jpg

 

The right side of the Test Bench has a cut-away that gets folded in to use as a mounting spot for the power supply. In front of the opening is the Cooler Master logo, while behind it, you get Cooler MasterÂ…Lab.

 

TweakTown image content/3/9/3937_11_cooler_master_test_bench_v1_0_open_air_chassis_review.jpg

 

Looking in this all black unit from the back, only the holes really show. There is a pair of holes at the top and the ventilation at the bottom of the unit that I will show in the next couple of images.

 

TweakTown image content/3/9/3937_12_cooler_master_test_bench_v1_0_open_air_chassis_review.jpg

 

The left side has tabs cut out and folded in to support drives as they are slid into place. There are also various slots to accept included hardware for securing the devices in the Test Bench.

 

TweakTown image content/3/9/3937_13_cooler_master_test_bench_v1_0_open_air_chassis_review.jpg

 

Looking down onto the top of the unit, Cooler Master has added holes for ATX and smaller motherboard risers. There is also a small hole above the drive bays for SATA cables and such, while the larger hole over the power supply will allow you to run the power wires under the motherboard for a cleaner look while testing. If the power supply didn't take up much of this hole, I would say it was possible to use to change back plates, but that would take some finesse while the PSU is in place.

 

TweakTown image content/3/9/3937_14_cooler_master_test_bench_v1_0_open_air_chassis_review.jpg

 

The unit gets supported with four large rubber feet, while the steel floor gets some ventilation and a few more slots for mounting drives. You can use the slots on the right to install a 2.5" drive directly to the floor, freeing up a slot in the front for another device.

 

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Cases, Cooling & PSU content at our Cases, Cooling & PSU reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Got an opinion on this content? Post a comment below!

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases