TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
6,011 Reviews & Articles | 38,771 News Posts
TRENDING NOW: Windows 9 logo teased, with Microsoft's next OS 'coming soon'

ASRock Fatal1ty P67 Professional (Intel P67 Express) Motherboard Review - BIOS

We take a look at a new board from ASRock - the Fatal1ty P67 Professional. Does the big time gamers touch give this P67 the edge?

| Socket LGA 1155 in Motherboards | Posted: Mar 17, 2011 10:52 am
TweakTown Rating: 91%Manufacturer: ASRock

BIOS

 

The ASRock Fatal1ty P67 Professional motherboard uses the new EFI (Enhanced Firmware Interface) for its BIOS. It gives it a little more flare and accessibility. Of course, you have Fatal1ty staring at you with his little smirk from every page, but after a while you really do not notice.

 

TweakTown image content/3/9/3934_16_asrock_fatal1ty_p67_professional_intel_p67_express_motherboard_review.jpg

 

The OC Tweaker page is nice, but I found that the scroll wheel on the mouse did not work all the time on this page. I ended up using the arrow keys to move or clicking on the up and down buttons on the page. Still, there are more than enough controls here to keep you busy and to give you the best performance out of the hardware you have installed.

 

TweakTown image content/3/9/3934_17_asrock_fatal1ty_p67_professional_intel_p67_express_motherboard_review.jpg

 

TweakTown image content/3/9/3934_18_asrock_fatal1ty_p67_professional_intel_p67_express_motherboard_review.jpg

 

All the way at the bottom of the OC Tweaker page you will find a few slots to save your favourite configurations so you can quickly bounce back between overclocks as needed.

 

TweakTown image content/3/9/3934_19_asrock_fatal1ty_p67_professional_intel_p67_express_motherboard_review.jpg

 

TweakTown image content/3/9/3934_26_asrock_fatal1ty_p67_professional_intel_p67_express_motherboard_review.jpg

 

On the Fatal1ty the Advanced page seems to have all of the seldom used options. This is ok as it keeps the overclocking pages clean and all of the other tools centrally located for easy use.

 

TweakTown image content/3/9/3934_20_asrock_fatal1ty_p67_professional_intel_p67_express_motherboard_review.jpg

 

TweakTown image content/3/9/3934_21_asrock_fatal1ty_p67_professional_intel_p67_express_motherboard_review.jpg

 

You can tinker with everything from the Northbridge controls to the Storage Configuration.

 

TweakTown image content/3/9/3934_22_asrock_fatal1ty_p67_professional_intel_p67_express_motherboard_review.jpg

 

The ASRock still has all of the monitoring you are used to as well as a nice boot sequence page.

 

TweakTown image content/3/9/3934_23_asrock_fatal1ty_p67_professional_intel_p67_express_motherboard_review.jpg

 

TweakTown image content/3/9/3934_24_asrock_fatal1ty_p67_professional_intel_p67_express_motherboard_review.jpg

 

In all the BIOS is clean and well laid out. I was not happy with the background image as I feel it makes the information hard to read at times. Still, that is something that I can overlook as it does not affect performance at all (it is just a little tacky).

 

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Motherboards content at our Motherboards reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Got an opinion on this content? Post a comment below!

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts
Check out TweakTown Polls on LockerDome on LockerDome

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases