TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
6,072 Reviews & Articles | 38,997 News Posts

ASRock Fatal1ty P67 Professional (Intel P67 Express) Motherboard Review - The Motherboard

We take a look at a new board from ASRock - the Fatal1ty P67 Professional. Does the big time gamers touch give this P67 the edge?

| Socket LGA 1155 in Motherboards | Posted: Mar 17, 2011 10:52 am
TweakTown Rating: 91%Manufacturer: ASRock

The Board

 

TweakTown image content/3/9/3934_01_asrock_fatal1ty_p67_professional_intel_p67_express_motherboard_review.jpg

 

Umm...anyone else having a moment of Dejà vu? I know I am just from looking at this board. But all that aside, I have to admit the board is pretty good looking. It has a flash combination of colors with the black PCB, gold caps and red pretty much everywhere else.

 

TweakTown image content/3/9/3934_08_asrock_fatal1ty_p67_professional_intel_p67_express_motherboard_review.jpg

 

Starting off in the upper right hand corner of the board (as it would look mounted in a case), we find the RAM slots in the typical spot. The 24-Pin ATX power connector is up here also and a legacy PATA port as well.

 

TweakTown image content/3/9/3934_09_asrock_fatal1ty_p67_professional_intel_p67_express_motherboard_review.jpg

 

TweakTown image content/3/9/3934_10_asrock_fatal1ty_p67_professional_intel_p67_express_motherboard_review.jpg

 

The area around the CPU socket is also pretty clean with what looks like some serious trace tuning going from the CPU to the RAM. In case you did not know, ASRock has made sure that you will never forget that this is the Fatal1ty Profess1onal P67. The emblems are all around the CPU socket. The gold capacitors also stand out quite nicely here.

 

TweakTown image content/3/9/3934_11_asrock_fatal1ty_p67_professional_intel_p67_express_motherboard_review.jpg

 

The 8-pin aux connector is in a little bit of an awkward place still, but manageable. One thing we do want to point out (and this might just be our board); the Fatal1ty signature emblem was coming off and had to be remounted after I bumped it. I would recommend checking these before you mount this board in your case.

 

TweakTown image content/3/9/3934_12_asrock_fatal1ty_p67_professional_intel_p67_express_motherboard_review.jpg

 

TweakTown image content/3/9/3934_13_asrock_fatal1ty_p67_professional_intel_p67_express_motherboard_review.jpg

 

The peripheral slots are well laid out and appear to be aimed at the high-end gamer. After all, you have a single PCIe x1 slot above the primary PCIe x16 slot and then two more double spaced PCIe x16 slots below that. Unfortunately you are not going to get dual or three-way x16 here. If you run a single GPU in the primary slot you get full x16 there. With any other PCIe card in the other x16 mechanical slots this drops back to x8. If you try to run Three-way SLI or Crossfire you end up with dual x8 and one x4. At that point you have to wonder if it is worth the extra effort (to have three GPUs).

 

TweakTown image content/3/9/3934_14_asrock_fatal1ty_p67_professional_intel_p67_express_motherboard_review.jpg

 

Now that we have made it all the way around the board, we find a pair of board mounted power and reset switches, diagnostic LEDs, ten SATA ports (six SATA 3.0 and four SATA-II). The Cougar Point MCP is covered by a large heatsink which is topped with Fatal1ty's logo (just in case you forgot).

 

TweakTown image content/3/9/3934_15_asrock_fatal1ty_p67_professional_intel_p67_express_motherboard_review.jpg

 

The I/O ports on the back look fairly normal. There is one item that is not normal. If you look at the red USB ports and in particular the top one you will find something out of the ordinary, even if it looks mundane. This is the Fatal1ty mouse port; it is supposed to operate at a 1000MHz polling rate which should get you very smooth mouse movements. Well, that is if your mouse supports that. We will talk a little more about this port and how well it works later.

 

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Motherboards content at our Motherboards reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Got an opinion on this content? Post a comment below!

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases