TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
5,686 Reviews & Articles | 36,204 News Posts
Weekly Giveaway: Fractal Design Arc Cases Contest (Global Entry!)

ASRock Fatal1ty P67 Professional (Intel P67 Express) Motherboard Review - Real-World Tests Part II

We take a look at a new board from ASRock - the Fatal1ty P67 Professional. Does the big time gamers touch give this P67 the edge?

| Socket LGA 1155 in Motherboards | Posted: Mar 17, 2011 10:52 am
TweakTown Rating: 91%      Manufacturer: ASRock

Here we have our real gaming tests. Each of the games we chose uses multiple cores and GPUs. They are able to stress the system through use of good AI. Both have decent positional audio that adds impact to the sound subsystem of the board. We ran each game through the level or parts listed and recorded frame per second using FRAPS. This brings the whole game into play.

 

*** A word on gaming as a motherboard test; ***

 

Despite the fact that most games are very GPU limited, we are still noticing HDD and even audio creating issues in gaming performance. Because of this you may see differences in the number of frames rendered per second between different boards. Usually the difference is very small but occasionally, because of bad tracing, poor memory or HDD performance this difference is significant. The issues are often more prevalent in older versions of DirectX but can still pop up in DX10 and 11.

 


Call of Duty Modern Warfare 2 (DX9)

 

Version and / or Patch Used: 1.0
Timedemo or Level Used: First combat until the school is cleared
Developer Homepage: http://www.infinityward.com
Product Homepage: http://modernwarfare2.infinityward.com

 

Most of you know about the game Modern Warfare 2, it caused quite a bit of controversy in the latter half of 2009. The game is a first person shooter with a heavy combat emphasis. It follows the events in the first Modern Warfare very closely and brings back several characters from the original. As with most games in the Call of Duty franchise it features a heavy AI load. This is not because of a complex AI routine, but more due to the sheer number of enemies in any given combat situation. It is also our single DX9 based game in our testing suite. Settings are shown below.

 

TweakTown image content/3/9/3934_81_asrock_fatal1ty_p67_professional_intel_p67_express_motherboard_review.png

 

TweakTown image content/3/9/3934_82_asrock_fatal1ty_p67_professional_intel_p67_express_motherboard_review.png

 

TweakTown image content/3/9/3934_54_asrock_fatal1ty_p67_professional_intel_p67_express_motherboard_review.png

 

Ok, this one is hard to call. I really expected the Fatal1ty to stand out in gaming. While the numbers are close and at the frame rates we see here you really would not complain (after all, at 84 FPS minimum you are beyond what the eye can detect), still I am a little disappointed.

 


Far Cry 2 (DX10)

 

Version and / or Patch Used: V1.00
Timedemo or Level Used: Clearing the Safe house through to the Rescue
Developer Homepage: http://www.ubi.com
Product Homepage: http://www. http://farcry.us.ubi.com

 

Far Cry 2 is a large sandbox style game. There are no levels here so as you move about the island you are on you do not have to wait for the "loading" sign to go away. It is mission driven so each mission is what you would normally think of as the next "level". In the game you take the role of a mercenary who has been sent to kill the Jackal, unfortunately your malaria kicks in and you end up being found by him. Long story short, you become the errand boy for a local militia leader and run all over the island doing his bidding. Settings we used for testing are shown below.

 

TweakTown image content/3/9/3934_83_asrock_fatal1ty_p67_professional_intel_p67_express_motherboard_review.png

 

TweakTown image content/3/9/3934_55_asrock_fatal1ty_p67_professional_intel_p67_express_motherboard_review.png

 

Here we have something of a comeback. The Fatal1ty does well at Far Cry 2. We see minimum frame rates higher than the other boards in the group. It is still very close and we doubt you would see the difference when you looked at them, but it is nice to see the Fatal1ty out in front.

 


Battlefield Bad Company 2 (DX11)

 

Version and / or Patch Used: V1.00
Timedemo or Level Used: From washing up on the beach to the mine fields.
Developer Homepage: http://www.ea.com/
Product Homepage: http://badcompany2.ea.com/

 

Battlefield Bad Company is another sequel and also another game "franchise". Bad Company 2 is also our DX11 Shooter game. The game follows a fictitious B company team on a mission to recover a Japanese defector. This puts you back in World War II (at least for the beginning of the game) while the multi-player game is centered on much more modern combat. For our testing we used the single player mode. Settings are shown below.

 

TweakTown image content/3/9/3934_84_asrock_fatal1ty_p67_professional_intel_p67_express_motherboard_review.png

 

TweakTown image content/3/9/3934_56_asrock_fatal1ty_p67_professional_intel_p67_express_motherboard_review.png

 

Again the Fatal1ty does well. It is within 1-2 FPS of the top spot in our group. This is a nice comeback after the Modern Warfare2 testing.

 


Gaming Conclusion

 

Gaming tests for motherboards and CPUs are always going to be tough to call. Unless the motherboard manufacturer does something really wrong there should not be any performance issues from that end. After all, when you are running at 1920 x1080 and above the GPU takes over. Still, it is nice to see that the Fatal1ty does not have any hidden issues that would hinder your gaming performance.

 

During our time with it we did not note any issues with audio or network performance. Although we do suspect that if you are an avid gamer you might end up dropping in a different audio card, the on-board CODEC is still pretty good.

 

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Motherboards content at our Motherboards reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Post a Comment about this content

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts

Latest Downloads

View More Latest Downloads

TweakTown Web Poll

Question: Did EA kill the Battlefield franchise with the terrible BF4 issues?

Yes, Battlefield is doomed

No, Battlefield will live on strong

I'm not sure, but I know EA needs to improve its game

or View the Results

View More Polls

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases
Get TweakTown updates via Facebook!
Just click the "Like" button below