TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
6,143 Reviews & Articles | 39,490 News Posts
Weekly Giveaway: Win an Antec Case, PSU and Cooler (Global Entry!)

Corsair AX1200 1200W Power Supply Review - Inside the Box

Corsair delivers true enthusiast quantity power and enthusiast quality outputs with the AX1200.

| Other PSUs in Cases, Cooling & PSU | Posted: Mar 15, 2011 12:34 am
TweakTown Rating: 95%Manufacturer: Corsair

Inside the Box

 

TweakTown image content/3/8/3893_08_corsair_ax1200_1200w_power_supply_review.jpg

 

Let's move on to the goods shall we. Inside the box we find this is how things are packed. The AX1200 is well protected. All of the modular cables are contained in the bag on the right. It looks large enough to even accommodate the needs of Paris Hilton.

 

TweakTown image content/3/8/3893_09_corsair_ax1200_1200w_power_supply_review.jpg

 

The power supply itself is also housed in its own felt cozy, protecting it from scratches during shipping.

 

TweakTown image content/3/8/3893_10_corsair_ax1200_1200w_power_supply_review.jpg

 

On the top of the AX1200 is the I/O specification label and serial number for the power supply.

 

TweakTown image content/3/8/3893_11_corsair_ax1200_1200w_power_supply_review.jpg

 

Both of the sides of the AX1200 are identical and keep it simple. There is simply the Corsair and AX1200 logos displayed here.

 

TweakTown image content/3/8/3893_12_corsair_ax1200_1200w_power_supply_review.jpg

 

Taking a look at the back of the power supply, we find the honeycomb mesh grill to vent hot air out the back. It is only obstructed by the AC input and the very large toggle On/Off switch in the back.

 

TweakTown image content/3/8/3893_13_corsair_ax1200_1200w_power_supply_review.jpg

 

Moving to the front of the AX1200, we see the 15 different connections for all of the modular cables. These should serve up all the connections you need in just about any combination of cables you can come up with.

 

TweakTown image content/3/8/3893_14_corsair_ax1200_1200w_power_supply_review.jpg

 

Cooling this monstrosity is a 140mm fan with wire grill to keep airflow restrictions to a minimum.

 

TweakTown image content/3/8/3893_15_corsair_ax1200_1200w_power_supply_review.jpg

 

Dumping out the bag of modular cables, we see that there is plenty to go around. In total, there are 19 cables. Not all can be utilized at once, but this adds a little more flexibility to tailor the cabling to your specific needs. Note that all of the "heavy duty" cables are sleeved. These are the Main, PCIE, and EPS12V cables. All of the peripheral cables are of the ribbon type.

 

TweakTown image content/3/8/3893_16_corsair_ax1200_1200w_power_supply_review.jpg

 

Also included in the box is the user manual, power cable, cable ties, mounting screws, and a case badge.

 

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Cases, Cooling & PSU content at our Cases, Cooling & PSU reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Got an opinion on this content? Post a comment below!

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases