TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
6,144 Reviews & Articles | 39,490 News Posts
Weekly Giveaway: Win an Antec Case, PSU and Cooler (Global Entry!)

GIGABYTE P67A-UD4 (Intel P67 Express) Motherboard Review - Test System Setup and Comments

After taking a look at the P67A-UD7 with the launch of Sandy Bridge, we come around to P67A-UD4. Can the UD7's little brother hold up the family name?

| Socket LGA 1155 in Motherboards | Posted: Mar 9, 2011 2:27 am
TweakTown Rating: 82%Manufacturer: GIGABYTE

TweakTown image content/3/8/3884_101_gigabyte_p67a_ud4_intel_p67_express_motherboard_review.png

 

We would like to thank the following companies for supplying and supporting us with our test system hardware and equipment: GIGABYTE, ASUS, Intel, Corsair and Sceptre.

 

One of the things that I like about some (upper?) mid-range boards is the fact that you get so many extra utilities to tinker with. In looking over the suite that comes with the P67A-UD4 and the Smart6 suite, I have to say that when you setup the UD4 you have some very nice options.

 

TweakTown image content/3/8/3884_35_gigabyte_p67a_ud4_intel_p67_express_motherboard_review.png

 

TweakTown image content/3/8/3884_36_gigabyte_p67a_ud4_intel_p67_express_motherboard_review.png

 

One of my favourites is the Smart Recorder along with the Smart Lock. These two can be very beneficial to a parent setting up a system for their kid (or for the paranoid trying to find out who is using their system).

 

TweakTown image content/3/8/3884_37_gigabyte_p67a_ud4_intel_p67_express_motherboard_review.png

 

The Smart Recover can be useful for backing up your system in the event of a disaster. However, be sure you are not just backing up to the same drive, as that is pretty much a useless back up.

 

TweakTown image content/3/8/3884_38_gigabyte_p67a_ud4_intel_p67_express_motherboard_review.png

 

Another piece of software that is often overlooked is the Dynamic Energy Saver 2. This can control the power to all parts of your system. It has multiple profiles that can be set depending on your usage model and can even let you turn GIGABYTE's new Dual Power feature on or off.

 

TweakTown image content/3/8/3884_39_gigabyte_p67a_ud4_intel_p67_express_motherboard_review.png

 

TweakTown image content/3/8/3884_102_gigabyte_p67a_ud4_intel_p67_express_motherboard_review.png

 

TweakTown image content/3/8/3884_103_gigabyte_p67a_ud4_intel_p67_express_motherboard_review.png

 

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Motherboards content at our Motherboards reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Got an opinion on this content? Post a comment below!

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases