TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
5,914 Reviews & Articles | 38,107 News Posts

GIGABYTE P67A-UD4 (Intel P67 Express) Motherboard Review - Overclocking

After taking a look at the P67A-UD7 with the launch of Sandy Bridge, we come around to P67A-UD4. Can the UD7's little brother hold up the family name?

| Socket LGA 1155 in Motherboards | Posted: Mar 9, 2011 2:27 am
TweakTown Rating: 82%      Manufacturer: GIGABYTE

Overclocking

 

The P67A-UD4 is about as easy to overclock as any Sandy Bridge motherboard. The issue is that not all are capable of the same level of performance. To get things started we tried for the same OC we have seen on other P67 based boards. This is 48x100 for 4.8GHz. Unfortunately that was not to be; we had POST issues at that speed and had to back things off to 47x100 or 4.7GHz.

 

Now, this is not bad at all considering the price point and market that this board is aimed at. The interesting thing is that at 4.8GHz we could not post. At 4.7GHz we were fully stable. It was a very odd thing and something that we intend to look into when time permits.

 

TweakTown image content/3/8/3884_100_gigabyte_p67a_ud4_intel_p67_express_motherboard_review.png

 

You can see the CPUz validation here.

 

EasyTune6

 

If you know anything about GIGABYTE then you know about their overclocking and system tweaking utility, EasyTune6. This is a fairly complete utility, but it does have some cosmetic and navigation issues. The overall software is nice, but it can be bulky and cumbersome to navigate.

 

When you first launch the software you get the Tuner page. This page has some quick overclocking profiles that you can click on to get a fast boost for your system (that might be why GIGABYTE calls it QuickBoost).

 

TweakTown image content/3/8/3884_24_gigabyte_p67a_ud4_intel_p67_express_motherboard_review.png

 

But before we get to the overclocking, let's look at EasyTune6 from the beginning.

 

TweakTown image content/3/8/3884_25_gigabyte_p67a_ud4_intel_p67_express_motherboard_review.png

 

The first tab in the EasyTune suite is the CPU tab. This gives you pretty much the same information that you get from CPU-Z. It is a nice touch, but I think that it might be better as a sidebar or a button inside another tab instead of its own tab.

 

TweakTown image content/3/8/3884_26_gigabyte_p67a_ud4_intel_p67_express_motherboard_review.png

 

The next tab is a continuation of the CPU-Z like functions and provides information about your memory. Not bad information to have, but again I think it could be part of another page to keep things simple.

 

TweakTown image content/3/8/3884_27_gigabyte_p67a_ud4_intel_p67_express_motherboard_review.png

 

The next tab brings us back to the Tuner. Since we have already seen the QuickBoost page, let's talk about your other options here. As you can see above, after the three choices of the QuickBoost you can click over to the easy overclocking tools. Here you can adjust only the BCLK and Ratio. Since you do not want to play with the BCLK too much, you will end up in the Ratio settings.

 

TweakTown image content/3/8/3884_28_gigabyte_p67a_ud4_intel_p67_express_motherboard_review.png

 

TweakTown image content/3/8/3884_29_gigabyte_p67a_ud4_intel_p67_express_motherboard_review.png

 

TweakTown image content/3/8/3884_30_gigabyte_p67a_ud4_intel_p67_express_motherboard_review.png

 

Of course, you know that GIGABYTE is not going to leave you with just the simple tools like we find in QuickBoost and the easy overclocking. You knew they would have something more advanced than that, and they do. This is called (unsurprisingly) the advanced mode. These tools give you some great flexibility when it comes to Windows based overclocking. You can even adjust the memory performance form here. This is something that many other boards are still missing.

 

TweakTown image content/3/8/3884_31_gigabyte_p67a_ud4_intel_p67_express_motherboard_review.png

 

Moving on from the CPU overclocking tools, we come to a GPU overclocking tool. It is interesting that this tool was willing to let us overclock our test GPU considering that it was from another manufacturer.

 

TweakTown image content/3/8/3884_32_gigabyte_p67a_ud4_intel_p67_express_motherboard_review.png

 

Smart fan settings are the cool thing to have now and if you can put tools to adjust these inside Windows, then you are even cooler.

 

TweakTown image content/3/8/3884_33_gigabyte_p67a_ud4_intel_p67_express_motherboard_review.png

 

TweakTown image content/3/8/3884_34_gigabyte_p67a_ud4_intel_p67_express_motherboard_review.png

 

The hardware monitor tab offers a fairly functional collection of monitoring utilities that can let you keep track of voltages and temperatures. In all, EasyTune6 is a pretty nice suite, but it could use an overhaul to make it even better.

 

As all overclocking results are dependent on the hardware you use, your results may vary. Results of our overclocking tests are included in the performance section with the stock scores.

 

Important Editor Note: Our maximum overclocking result is the best result we managed in our limited time of testing the motherboard. Due to time constraints we weren't able to tweak the motherboard to the absolute maximum and find the highest possible FSB, as this could take days to find properly. We do however spend at least a few hours overclocking every motherboard to try and find the highest possible overclock in that time frame. You may or may not be able to overclock higher if you spend more time tweaking or as new BIOS updates are released. "Burn-in" time might also come into play if you believe in that.

 

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Motherboards content at our Motherboards reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Post a Comment about this content

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts

TweakTown Web Poll

Question: Facebook's acquisition of Oculus VR will...

Improve Oculus Rift Development

Hamper Oculus Rift Development

Completely destroy Oculus Rift Development

Let's wait and see, I'm not sure

or View the Results

View More Polls

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases