TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
5,677 Reviews & Articles | 36,081 News Posts
Weekly Giveaway: Fractal Design Arc Cases Contest (Global Entry!)

ASUS RT-N56U Dual Band Gigabit Wireless N Router Review - Setup and WebUI

ASUS' RT-N56U has a new and artistic look, but can it perform as good as it looks?

| Routers & Access Points in Networking | Posted: Feb 16, 2011 5:38 am
TweakTown Rating: 86%      Manufacturer: ASUS

Setup and WebUI

 

Unlike some of the other wireless routers we have tested from ASUS, we did not see a setup wizard in the UI. This was something of a disappointment as I have felt that ASUS was on the right track with their wizards in previous models.

 

TweakTown image content/3/8/3853_11_asus_rt_n56u_dual_band_gigabit_wireless_n_router_review.png

 

Of course, with as simple as ASUS has made their UI, I imagine that they felt there was little need for a setup wizard to be forced into the RT-N56U. What you see above is the basic Welcome screen. It is setup to allow you to see your device and network "at a glance". We have it disconnected for these images, but you will also see your Internet connection in addition to systems on the network and USB devices directly attached.

 

TweakTown image content/3/8/3853_12_asus_rt_n56u_dual_band_gigabit_wireless_n_router_review.png

 

After the Network map we come to the AI Disk Wizard. In order to use this handy little feature you will have to have a USB device attached. Once you do the Wizard will be visible to you.

 

TweakTown image content/3/8/3853_13_asus_rt_n56u_dual_band_gigabit_wireless_n_router_review.png

 

AiDisk is a very streamlined way to setup basic file sharing from your RT-N56U. It is a great feature and one that is becoming more common place in home networking gear. After you click the "Go" button it is just a few steps and you will have a very inexpensive NAS complete with wireless.

 

TweakTown image content/3/8/3853_14_asus_rt_n56u_dual_band_gigabit_wireless_n_router_review.png

 

TweakTown image content/3/8/3853_15_asus_rt_n56u_dual_band_gigabit_wireless_n_router_review.png

 

TweakTown image content/3/8/3853_16_asus_rt_n56u_dual_band_gigabit_wireless_n_router_review.png

 

As you can see from the steps shown here, you do not have to do much to get the AiDisk up and running.

 

TweakTown image content/3/8/3853_17_asus_rt_n56u_dual_band_gigabit_wireless_n_router_review.png

 

ASUS gives you multiple options for security right from this simple wizard. You can also head into the advanced section for more granular control.

 

TweakTown image content/3/8/3853_18_asus_rt_n56u_dual_band_gigabit_wireless_n_router_review.png

 

The Universal Plug and Play feature is one that is both a benefit and a danger. On the one hand it can make setting up a media server (with the use of the AiDisk feature) a snap. On the other, it can be a security hole and one that can be exploited.

 

TweakTown image content/3/8/3853_19_asus_rt_n56u_dual_band_gigabit_wireless_n_router_review.png

 

For Quality of Service, ASUS is giving you a very visual way to shape your traffic. All you have to do is click the Icon of the items you want to give priority and you are set.

 

TweakTown image content/3/8/3853_20_asus_rt_n56u_dual_band_gigabit_wireless_n_router_review.png

 

Of course, you cannot get by on the simple wizards alone. ASUS has made sure to include more advanced options for greater control over your RT-N56U and also to allow the more experienced users to feel at home, too.

 

TweakTown image content/3/8/3853_21_asus_rt_n56u_dual_band_gigabit_wireless_n_router_review.png

 

As with most ASUS routers we have worked with, the next item up on the list are the wireless pages. These are pretty standard with the exception of the extra band you can configure. For those of you that are not familiar with the 5GHz range, it is excellent for connecting HTPC and other high traffic systems. When using this you are not impacting your regular network at all.

 

TweakTown image content/3/8/3853_22_asus_rt_n56u_dual_band_gigabit_wireless_n_router_review.png

 

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Networking content at our Networking reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Post a Comment about this content

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts

Latest Downloads

View More Latest Downloads

TweakTown Web Poll

Question: Did EA kill the Battlefield franchise with the terrible BF4 issues?

Yes, Battlefield is doomed

No, Battlefield will live on strong

I'm not sure, but I know EA needs to improve its game

or View the Results

View More Polls

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases
Get TweakTown updates via Facebook!
Just click the "Like" button below