TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
6,209 Reviews & Articles | 40,183 News Posts
TRENDING NOW: GTA V will have 'just for PC' features, including a video editor

ASUS P8P67 Deluxe (Intel P67 Express) Motherboard Review - Overclocking

After taking a look at the Workstation side of the ASUS P67 family, we thought we would hit the upper end of the mainstream with the P8P67 Deluxe.

| Socket LGA 1155 in Motherboards | Posted: Feb 10, 2011 3:38 am
TweakTown Rating: 91%Manufacturer: ASUS

Overclocking

 

As with all ASUS/ Sandy Bridge combos, overclocking was a snap (come to think of that, overclocking ANY Sandy Bridge CPU is a snap). Once again, we hit up the Ai Suite II for our initial overclock. With the click of the mouse and two reboots we hit a high of 4.729GHz (105.1x45). This was perfectly stable, so we tried for higher. Unfortunately we could not get any farther. We ended up sticking with the auto-tune overclock.

 

TweakTown image content/3/8/3829_30_asus_p8p67_deluxe_intel_p67_express_motherboard_review.png

 

TweakTown image content/3/8/3829_100_asus_p8p67_deluxe_intel_p67_express_motherboard_review.png

 

You can see the CPUz validation here.

 

AI Suite II

 

Along with a new BIOS, ASUS has a redesigned suite of tools to help the enthusiast get the most out of their motherboard. This is the AI Suite II. The UI has been revamped with ease of use and accessibility in mind. When you launch the tool it opens up a small bar with a group of buttons. The first one we have already talked about; this is the Auto Tuning option.

 

TweakTown image content/3/8/3829_31_asus_p8p67_deluxe_intel_p67_express_motherboard_review.png

 

TweakTown image content/3/8/3829_105_asus_p8p67_deluxe_intel_p67_express_motherboard_review.png

 

After that we get into the tools; these are items like the TurboV Evo software, Digi+ VRM and others.

 

TweakTown image content/3/8/3829_32_asus_p8p67_deluxe_intel_p67_express_motherboard_review.png

 

The Digi+ VRM is a great tool that gives you almost the same level of control you have in the BIOS right inside Windows. This really does give you an unprecedented level of control over your power regulation system in a consumer level product.

 

TweakTown image content/3/8/3829_33_asus_p8p67_deluxe_intel_p67_express_motherboard_review.png

 

After that we have the more traditional EPU software (with a new look) and a Windows based utility that will let you adjust the Fan settings (Think Q-Fan).

 

TweakTown image content/3/8/3829_38_asus_p8p67_deluxe_intel_p67_express_motherboard_review.png

 

TweakTown image content/3/8/3829_34_asus_p8p67_deluxe_intel_p67_express_motherboard_review.png

 

We have mentioned that the P8P67 Deluxe has a Bluetooth module. Well, here is where you would connect to devices. Also visible in this image are the monitoring tools. When you click these they pop up on the side of the window (the right side).

 

TweakTown image content/3/8/3829_35_asus_p8p67_deluxe_intel_p67_express_motherboard_review.png

 

TweakTown image content/3/8/3829_36_asus_p8p67_deluxe_intel_p67_express_motherboard_review.png

 

The system information and settings pages are easy to understand. They just offer even more control over your system.

 

TweakTown image content/3/8/3829_37_asus_p8p67_deluxe_intel_p67_express_motherboard_review.png

 

Overall the new suite is nice looking, and pretty powerful. It is the type of thing you would expect on a much more expensive system, but here it is on a workstation board.

 

As all overclocking results are dependent on the hardware you use, your results may vary. Results of our overclocking tests are included in the performance section with the stock scores.

 

Important Editor Note: Our maximum overclocking result is the best result we managed in our limited time of testing the motherboard. Due to time constraints we weren't able to tweak the motherboard to the absolute maximum and find the highest possible FSB, as this could take days to find properly. We do however spend at least a few hours overclocking every motherboard to try and find the highest possible overclock in that time frame. You may or may not be able to overclock higher if you spend more time tweaking or as new BIOS updates are released. "Burn-in" time might also come into play if you believe in that.

 

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Motherboards content at our Motherboards reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Got an opinion on this content? Post a comment below!

Latest News Posts

View More News Posts

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases