TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
6,004 Reviews & Articles | 38,750 News Posts

ASUS P8P67 Deluxe (Intel P67 Express) Motherboard Review - Real-World Tests Part II

After taking a look at the Workstation side of the ASUS P67 family, we thought we would hit the upper end of the mainstream with the P8P67 Deluxe.

| Socket LGA 1155 in Motherboards | Posted: Feb 10, 2011 3:38 am
TweakTown Rating: 91%Manufacturer: ASUS

Here we have our real gaming tests. Each of the games we chose uses multiple cores and GPUs. They are able to stress the system through use of good AI. Both have decent positional audio that adds impact to the sound subsystem of the board. We ran each game through the level or parts listed and recorded frame per second using FRAPS. This brings the whole game into play.

 

*** A word on gaming as a motherboard test; ***
Despite the fact that most games are very GPU limited, we are still noticing HDD and even audio creating issues in gaming performance. Because of this you may see differences in the number of frames rendered per second between different boards. Usually the difference is very small but occasionally, because of bad tracing, poor memory or HDD performance this difference is significant. The issues are often more prevalent in older versions of DirectX but can still pop up in DX10 and 11.

 

Call of Duty Modern Warfare 2 (DX9)

 

Version and / or Patch Used: 1.0
Timedemo or Level Used: First combat until the school is cleared
Developer Homepage: http://www.infinityward.com
Product Homepage: http://modernwarfare2.infinityward.com

 

Most of you know about the game Modern Warfare 2 - It caused quite a bit of controversy in the latter half of 2009. The game is a first person shooter with a heavy combat emphasis. It follows the events in the first Modern Warfare very closely and brings back several characters from the original.

As with most games in the Call of Duty franchise, it features a heavy AI load. This is not because of a complex AI routine, but more due to the sheer number of enemies in any given combat situation. It is also our single DX9 based game in our testing suite. Settings are shown below.

 

TweakTown image content/3/8/3829_81_asus_p8p67_deluxe_intel_p67_express_motherboard_review.png

 

TweakTown image content/3/8/3829_82_asus_p8p67_deluxe_intel_p67_express_motherboard_review.png

 

TweakTown image content/3/8/3829_54_asus_p8p67_deluxe_intel_p67_express_motherboard_review.png

 

The P8P67 Deluxe does great with our DX9 game, but then again, if you consider that all of these boards are running more than 80FPS minimum, I think any would be great as gaming platforms.

 

Far Cry 2 (DX10)

 

Version and / or Patch Used: V1.00
Timedemo or Level Used: Clearing the Safe house through to the Rescue
Developer Homepage: http://www.ubi.com
Product Homepage: http://www. http://farcry.us.ubi.com

 

Far Cry 2 is a large sandbox style game. There are no levels here, so as you move about the island you are on you do not have to wait for the "loading" sign to go away. It is mission driven, so each mission is what you would normally think of as the next "level".

In the game you take the role of a mercenary who has been sent to kill the Jackal. Unfortunately your malaria kicks in and you end up being found by him. Long story short, you become the errand boy for a local militia leader and run all over the island doing his bidding. Settings we used for testing are shown below.

 

TweakTown image content/3/8/3829_83_asus_p8p67_deluxe_intel_p67_express_motherboard_review.png

 

TweakTown image content/3/8/3829_55_asus_p8p67_deluxe_intel_p67_express_motherboard_review.png

 

Far Cry 2 is a little different. There is a much larger Delta from top to bottom even between the P67 based products. The P8P67 Deluxe at stock speed is 11 FPS Minimum behind the UD7. All are still playable, but the UD7 is faster here.

 

Battlefield Bad Company 2 (DX11)

 

Version and / or Patch Used: V1.00
Timedemo or Level Used: From washing up on the beach to the mine fields.
Developer Homepage: http://www.ea.com/
Product Homepage: http://badcompany2.ea.com/

 

Battlefield Bad Company is another sequel and also another game "franchise". Bad Company 2 is also our DX11 Shooter game. The game follows a fictitious B company team on a mission to recover a Japanese defector. This puts you back in World War II (at least for the beginning of the game) while the multi-player game is centered on much more modern combat. For our testing we used the single player mode. Settings are shown below.

 

TweakTown image content/3/8/3829_84_asus_p8p67_deluxe_intel_p67_express_motherboard_review.png

 

TweakTown image content/3/8/3829_56_asus_p8p67_deluxe_intel_p67_express_motherboard_review.png

 

For Bad Company 2 (our DX11 game), none of the other boards have been able to knock the AMD system off the top of the hill. All of these are still above the 32FPS line, so they are more than playable.

 

Gaming Conclusion

 

Gaming is becoming less and less about frames per second as far as motherboard testing goes. We know that the GPUs can handle the higher resolutions. With our gaming tests we are now concentrating on level load, AI, networking and of course audio.

 

The P8P67 Deluxe with its Intel based LAN does great over the network, the audio was more than adequate and the AI on all of our games was responsive (or as responsive as the AI routines could be). So if you are interested in this board for gaming, you would not be making a bad choice.

 

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Motherboards content at our Motherboards reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Got an opinion on this content? Post a comment below!

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts
Check out TweakTown Polls on LockerDome on LockerDome

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases