TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
6,249 Reviews & Articles | 40,768 News Posts
TRENDING NOW: Rockstar rumored to announce Grand Theft Auto: San Andreas 2 soon

Galaxis Atlus Mid Tower Chassis Review - Inside the Galaxis Atlus Mid Tower Case

We have seen what Galaxis brought to the table with the ARES. Now let's look at the more affordable Atlus.

| Mid-Tower Cases in Cases, Cooling & PSU | Posted: Feb 9, 2011 4:12 am
TweakTown Rating: 87%Manufacturer: Galaxis

Inside the Galaxis Atlus Mid Tower Case

 

TweakTown image content/3/8/3823_13.jpg

 

With the door removed we are greeted with a similar flash of red down the drive assembly from the red twist locks of the tool-less clips. Securely strapped to the drive bays you will find all of the wiring from the front I/O and fan controller. In the main area you will find the instruction sheet floating around along with a pair of power leads for the top and rear 120mm fans. Don't forget, the hardware isn't inside this chassis, you must find it in the Styrofoam cap.

 

TweakTown image content/3/8/3823_14.jpg

 

The drive bays consist of room for four 5.25" devices followed by room for a 3.5" device, all to be able to be used externally. The following four bays use a combination of adapter trays and the tool-less locks to store up to four hard drives. These trays must be loaded from the inside, so keep that in mind for the build process.

 

TweakTown image content/3/8/3823_15.jpg

 

The motherboard tray comes with a rather large CPU cooler access hole at the top. While it doesn't line up exactly with every board, it does give you a good chance that it will line up with yours. Six risers come pre-installed into the tray, and with a few extra in the hardware box, getting an m-ATX or ATX motherboard in here is no problem. Also note that the area just right of the motherboard tray is solid steel. There will be no hiding wires next to the drive bays inside this chassis.

 

TweakTown image content/3/8/3823_16.jpg

 

I may be a bit too picky, but I found the fans position, as mounted from the factory, makes wire management a bit tougher, even though there is little to accommodate management at all in the Atlus. Moving past that, we run into the seven expansion slots; these are covered with removable panels, but once removed, they are not replaceable. To secure a card, included screws must be used.

 

TweakTown image content/3/8/3823_17.jpg

 

The front I/O wiring consisting of the USB, audio, and power and LED wires are all long enough to reach any motherboard connections, and still leave enough length to sort of coerce them into a clean looking grouping. The fan wiring however is another story. The wires are long enough to make connections, but not long enough to not have to see most of them through the windowed side panel.

 

TweakTown image content/3/8/3823_18.jpg

 

In the top of the Atlus, Galaxis ships a single 120mm fan, but as you can see, there is room for a second fan to be added. While the placement of the fans will certainly draw out most of the heated air very quickly, the position of the top to the tray makes these fans become an issue with tower cooler installation.

 

TweakTown image content/3/8/3823_19.jpg

 

The Atlus is supported with four plastic feet with rubber anti-skid pads. Just under the power supply is a ventilated area to allow the PSU to breathe cooler fresh air from underneath the chassis. Right next to this, as long as the power supply isn't too long, there is room for an additional 120mm fan here as well.

 

TweakTown image content/3/8/3823_20.jpg

 

Behind the motherboard tray there isn't too much to see. The room is very limited from the tray to the rear door, but as I mentioned, this design doesn't give you any way to get wiring hidden here anyways. I do like that I see a full setup of the tool-less clips on both sides of the bays.

 

TweakTown image content/3/8/3823_21.jpg

 

One major change that I really liked in the Atlus over the ARES, and that is the fact that the Atlus front bezel has no wiring attached to it. This not only makes getting to the filters much easier, it outright makes it simple since there isn't any unwiring to do once you pack everything cleanly inside.

 

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Cases, Cooling & PSU content at our Cases, Cooling & PSU reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Got an opinion on this content? Post a comment below!

Latest News Posts

View More News Posts

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases