TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
6,007 Reviews & Articles | 38,761 News Posts

NZXT Bunker USB Locking Device Review - The NZXT Bunker USB Locking Device

The Zombies are attacking, and NZXT brings us a bit of security in the Bunker.

| Cables & Accessories in Cases, Cooling & PSU | Posted: Feb 3, 2011 4:57 pm
TweakTown Rating: 94%Manufacturer: NZXT

The NZXT Bunker USB Locking Device

 

TweakTown image content/3/8/3815_06.jpg

 

From the front you can see just about all the aspects of the Bunker. A large lock can be found on the left to keep the door closed and keep people from borrowing you headphones, Mic, or anything else you may want to connect here. The door covering the four USB 2.0 connections you can see through the mesh has a slot at the bottom to allow the cords of the devices to pass through, but thin enough not to allow the connector of said device through.

 

TweakTown image content/3/8/3815_07.jpg

 

Turning the lock to the unlocked position scared me when I first unlocked it. I wasn't aware at first glance that the door was in fact spring loaded, and once the lock is turned it opens quite fast. As the door opens, a mechanism inside also slides the ports forward to allow for easier connectivity. In the reverse, when closing the door, the same mechanism will slide the ports back to allow for the connections.

 

TweakTown image content/3/8/3815_08.jpg

 

With the door closed and the ports sitting the full 4.2cm back from the front of the device, we can get a better look at the connectivity. In the plastic bracket, NZXT takes four USB connections, solders them to a PCB with the appropriate components, and then simply uses a motherboard USB connection for connectivity of his device.

 

TweakTown image content/3/8/3815_09.jpg

 

The bracket sits on a pair of tracks, which combined with this arm and spring, allow for the movement of the bracket containing the USB connections. I repeatedly opened and closed mine just to see how it all functions. At no time did I even run into the slightest binding of the unit. This design is well thought out and very functional.

 

TweakTown image content/3/8/3815_10.jpg

 

Since there are moving parts in the unit, NZXT added a little wire restraint to help keep the USB connection to the motherboard in place. This will also keep you from accidentally using too much wire elsewhere, so as not to tighten the wire too much so it wouldn't allow the door and tray to function properly. I only wish it was placed on the opposite side of the device; over here it leaves the wire exiting on the open side of my chassis, requiring me to take some extra steps to hide the wire properly, and almost leading me to not having enough length.

 

TweakTown image content/3/8/3815_11.jpg

 

Speaking of the length of the wire, there is right around 20" of length to the cable. That sounds like a long cord, but as I mentioned, I ate up five to six inches of that just getting across the bays. Connecting this device is simple, as it uses a typical USB connector found on any motherboard.

 

TweakTown image content/3/8/3815_12.jpg

 

I was looking through my devices to stick into the ports for connectivity images and came up with this. On the left is a typical thickness wire from a USB mouse. Next to that is a thicker charging cable for my cellular phone. That leaves the handy little 8GB thumb drive I have for just such occasions.

 

TweakTown image content/3/8/3815_13.jpg

 

Closing the door and locking it in place was easy, even with the thicker cable of the charger and the thumb drive still in place. While my connections and drive are hidden for the most part, the cables pouring out the front are a dead giveaway that I have things plugged in. This device will in no means stop someone from getting inside the plastic door with a screwdriver, but it will deter a thief to bother trying and hopefully he moves on to the chassis next to you for an easier prey target.

 

TweakTown image content/3/8/3815_14.jpg

 

Mounting the Bunker is simple, especially in cases with tool-less drive bays. There are four holes in either side of the Bunker that will line up with any cage and allow the Bunker to sit flush with the front bezel. I found the Bunker is slightly skinnier than the actual bay width of 5.25". In this chassis the gap is slightly more apparent with the light coming in through the windowed side panel on the left, but it makes the Bunker slide easily in and out of the chassis for mounting.

 

TweakTown image content/3/8/3815_15.jpg

 

Even with the thicker bay covers of this chassis above and below the bunker, once unlocked, and the bracket in the forward most position, attaching any device is super simple.

 

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Cases, Cooling & PSU content at our Cases, Cooling & PSU reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Got an opinion on this content? Post a comment below!

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts
Check out TweakTown Polls on LockerDome on LockerDome

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases