TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
6,096 Reviews & Articles | 39,129 News Posts

Areca ARC-1880ix-24 PCI-E x8 SATA/SAS RAID Controller w/ 24 Crucial RealSSD C300s - The Areca ARC-1880ix-24

With one 24-drive RAID array under our belt, we decided to test a few more large capacity RAID controllers with the RealSSD C300s.

| RAID/HBA in Storage | Posted: Jan 31, 2011 4:12 am
TweakTown Rating: 93%Manufacturer: Areca Technology Corporation

The Areca ARC-1880ix-24

 

TweakTown image content/3/8/3807_08.jpg

 

Here we get our first look at the Areca ARC-1880ix-24. The first thing you will notice is that Areca changed the heat sink after releasing all of the marketing material and printed up the boxes. The new design uses a much larger heat sink and eliminates the option for an add-on fan. Even though the new heat sink is quite large, it still keeps the controller a single slot design.

 

TweakTown image content/3/8/3807_09.jpg

 

The back of the card is relatively uneventful other than a few dozen surface mount components.

 

TweakTown image content/3/8/3807_10.jpg

 

The external side of the card is packed with as many ports as possible. On the left is a data port for management, the center has the SFF-8088 port and on the right is an Ethernet port, also for management.

 

TweakTown image content/3/8/3807_11.jpg

 

The internal ports are SFF-8087 and there are six of them in total. Two are on the side of the controller.

 

TweakTown image content/3/8/3807_12.jpg

 

The remaining found SFF-8087 ports are on the back of the card. Each port can connect to four drives giving you 24 internal ports total.

 

TweakTown image content/3/8/3807_13.jpg

 

In this image you get to see the PCIe x8 lane connector and the massive heat sink that Areca went to.

 

TweakTown image content/3/8/3807_14.jpg

 

I was able to find a couple of configurations on the e-tail market. Our sample arrived with a 1GB module, but you can purchase a 4GB upgrade kit or even purchase a controller with a 4GB module already installed.

 

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Storage content at our Storage reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Got an opinion on this content? Post a comment below!

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases