Technology content trusted in North America and globally since 1999
7,525 Reviews & Articles | 55,449 News Posts

Areca ARC-1880ix-24 PCI-E x8 SATA/SAS RAID Controller w/ 24 Crucial RealSSD C300s

By: Chris Ramseyer | RAID/HBA in Storage | Posted: Jan 31, 2011 4:12 am
Comment () | Email to a Friend | Font Size: AA
TweakTown Rating: 93%Manufacturer: Areca Technology Corporation

The Areca ARC-1880ix-24

 

content/3/8/3807_08.jpg

 

Here we get our first look at the Areca ARC-1880ix-24. The first thing you will notice is that Areca changed the heat sink after releasing all of the marketing material and printed up the boxes. The new design uses a much larger heat sink and eliminates the option for an add-on fan. Even though the new heat sink is quite large, it still keeps the controller a single slot design.

 

content/3/8/3807_09.jpg

 

The back of the card is relatively uneventful other than a few dozen surface mount components.

 

content/3/8/3807_10.jpg

 

The external side of the card is packed with as many ports as possible. On the left is a data port for management, the center has the SFF-8088 port and on the right is an Ethernet port, also for management.

 

content/3/8/3807_11.jpg

 

The internal ports are SFF-8087 and there are six of them in total. Two are on the side of the controller.

 

content/3/8/3807_12.jpg

 

The remaining found SFF-8087 ports are on the back of the card. Each port can connect to four drives giving you 24 internal ports total.

 

content/3/8/3807_13.jpg

 

In this image you get to see the PCIe x8 lane connector and the massive heat sink that Areca went to.

 

content/3/8/3807_14.jpg

 

I was able to find a couple of configurations on the e-tail market. Our sample arrived with a 1GB module, but you can purchase a 4GB upgrade kit or even purchase a controller with a 4GB module already installed.

 

    PRICING: You can find products similar to this one for sale below.


    United States: Find other tech and computer products like this over at Amazon's website.

    United Kingdom: Find other tech and computer products like this over at Amazon UK's website.

    Canada: Find other tech and computer products like this over at Amazon Canada's website.

    We at TweakTown openly invite the companies who provide us with review samples / who are mentioned or discussed to express their opinion of our content. If any company representative wishes to respond, we will publish the response here.

Related Tags

loading