TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
5,931 Reviews & Articles | 38,209 News Posts

Areca ARC-1880ix-24 PCI-E x8 SATA/SAS RAID Controller w/ 24 Crucial RealSSD C300s - The Areca ARC-1880ix-24

With one 24-drive RAID array under our belt, we decided to test a few more large capacity RAID controllers with the RealSSD C300s.

| RAID/HBA in Storage | Posted: Jan 31, 2011 4:12 am
TweakTown Rating: 93%      Manufacturer: Areca Technology Corporation

The Areca ARC-1880ix-24

 

TweakTown image content/3/8/3807_08.jpg

 

Here we get our first look at the Areca ARC-1880ix-24. The first thing you will notice is that Areca changed the heat sink after releasing all of the marketing material and printed up the boxes. The new design uses a much larger heat sink and eliminates the option for an add-on fan. Even though the new heat sink is quite large, it still keeps the controller a single slot design.

 

TweakTown image content/3/8/3807_09.jpg

 

The back of the card is relatively uneventful other than a few dozen surface mount components.

 

TweakTown image content/3/8/3807_10.jpg

 

The external side of the card is packed with as many ports as possible. On the left is a data port for management, the center has the SFF-8088 port and on the right is an Ethernet port, also for management.

 

TweakTown image content/3/8/3807_11.jpg

 

The internal ports are SFF-8087 and there are six of them in total. Two are on the side of the controller.

 

TweakTown image content/3/8/3807_12.jpg

 

The remaining found SFF-8087 ports are on the back of the card. Each port can connect to four drives giving you 24 internal ports total.

 

TweakTown image content/3/8/3807_13.jpg

 

In this image you get to see the PCIe x8 lane connector and the massive heat sink that Areca went to.

 

TweakTown image content/3/8/3807_14.jpg

 

I was able to find a couple of configurations on the e-tail market. Our sample arrived with a 1GB module, but you can purchase a 4GB upgrade kit or even purchase a controller with a 4GB module already installed.

 

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Storage content at our Storage reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Post a Comment about this content

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts

TweakTown Web Poll

Question: Facebook's acquisition of Oculus VR will...

Improve Oculus Rift Development

Hamper Oculus Rift Development

Completely destroy Oculus Rift Development

Let's wait and see, I'm not sure

or View the Results

View More Polls

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases