Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
6,681 Reviews & Articles | 45,669 News Posts

Areca ARC-1880ix-24 PCI-E x8 SATA/SAS RAID Controller w/ 24 Crucial RealSSD C300s - The Areca ARC-1880ix-24


By: | RAID/HBA in Storage | Posted: Jan 31, 2011 4:12 am
TweakTown Rating: 93%Manufacturer: Areca Technology Corporation

The Areca ARC-1880ix-24

 

content/3/8/3807_08.jpg

 

Here we get our first look at the Areca ARC-1880ix-24. The first thing you will notice is that Areca changed the heat sink after releasing all of the marketing material and printed up the boxes. The new design uses a much larger heat sink and eliminates the option for an add-on fan. Even though the new heat sink is quite large, it still keeps the controller a single slot design.

 

content/3/8/3807_09.jpg

 

The back of the card is relatively uneventful other than a few dozen surface mount components.

 

content/3/8/3807_10.jpg

 

The external side of the card is packed with as many ports as possible. On the left is a data port for management, the center has the SFF-8088 port and on the right is an Ethernet port, also for management.

 

content/3/8/3807_11.jpg

 

The internal ports are SFF-8087 and there are six of them in total. Two are on the side of the controller.

 

content/3/8/3807_12.jpg

 

The remaining found SFF-8087 ports are on the back of the card. Each port can connect to four drives giving you 24 internal ports total.

 

content/3/8/3807_13.jpg

 

In this image you get to see the PCIe x8 lane connector and the massive heat sink that Areca went to.

 

content/3/8/3807_14.jpg

 

I was able to find a couple of configurations on the e-tail market. Our sample arrived with a 1GB module, but you can purchase a 4GB upgrade kit or even purchase a controller with a 4GB module already installed.

 

    PRICING: You can find products similar to this one for sale below.


    United States: Find other tech and computer products like this over at Amazon's website.

    United Kingdom: Find other tech and computer products like this over at Amazon UK's website.

    Australia: Find other tech and computer products like this over at PLE Computer's website.

    Canada: Find other tech and computer products like this over at Amazon Canada's website.



    We at TweakTown openly invite the companies who provide us with review samples / who are mentioned or discussed to express their opinion of our content. If any company representative wishes to respond, we will publish the response here.

Related Tags

Got an opinion on this content? Post a comment below!

Latest News Posts

View More News Posts

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases
Subscribe to our Newsletter
Or Scroll Down