TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
6,202 Reviews & Articles | 40,030 News Posts
TRENDING NOW: Samsung wants the US government to block GeForce GPU shipments

ASUS P8P67 WS Revolution (Intel P67 Express) Motherboard - Overclocking

Following the launch of Sandy Bridge and with CES now behind us, we have the first of four ASUS P67 boards on the test bench. Say hello to the ASUS P8P67 WS Revolution workstation board.

| Socket LGA 1155 in Motherboards | Posted: Jan 25, 2011 10:49 am
TweakTown Rating: 91%Manufacturer: ASUS

Overclocking

 

One thing I like about the new Sandy Bridge CPUs (and more to the point, most new Intel CPUs) is how easy they are to overclock. On the P8P67 WS Revolution I was able to kick things into high gear with little more than a click. The Auto Tune feature ran for a few seconds, rebooted and within a few minutes we had a 4.7GHz OC including a 104MHz BCLK! - That all on its own was something that I had never expected.

 

Altering the BCLK was something that I had previously thought was not going to be possible. In fact, to this point all of our testing had failed with altered BCLKs. But the ASUS P8P67 WS was able to do it. I imagine that we will see more of this in the future as well.

 

TweakTown image content/3/7/3795_24.png

 

TweakTown image content/3/7/3795_25.png

 

In the end after tinkering, and of course in keeping with our single run requirement for our final overclock, we ended up with 104MHz x 46 for 4.787GHz.

 

TweakTown image content/3/7/3795_100.png

 

Validation here.

 

AI Suite II

 

Along with a new BIOS, ASUS has a redesigned suite of tools to help the enthusiast get the most out of their motherboard. This is the AI Suite II. The UI has been revamped with ease of use and accessibility in mind. When you launch the tool it opens up a small bar with a group of buttons. The first one we have already talked about; this is the Auto Tuning option.

 

TweakTown image content/3/7/3795_26.png

 

After that we get into the tools, these are items like the TurboV Evo software, Digi+ VRM and others.

 

TweakTown image content/3/7/3795_27.png

 

TweakTown image content/3/7/3795_28.png

 

After that we have the more traditional EPU software (with a new look) and a Windows based utility that will let you adjust the Fan settings (Think Q-Fan).

 

TweakTown image content/3/7/3795_29.png

 

TweakTown image content/3/7/3795_30.png

 

TweakTown image content/3/7/3795_31.png

 

The Probe II page lets you setup monitoring for a variety of sensors on the board. Here you can either monitor it in real time or track this using the recording function.

 

TweakTown image content/3/7/3795_32.png

 

TweakTown image content/3/7/3795_33.png

 

ASUS also lets you customize this software to suit your tastes with some nice options available in the settings pages.

 

TweakTown image content/3/7/3795_34.png

 

TweakTown image content/3/7/3795_35.png

 

Overall, the new suite is nice looking, and pretty powerful. It is the type of thing you would expect on a much more expensive system, but here it is on a workstation board.

 

As all overclocking results are dependent on the hardware you use, your results may vary. Results of our overclocking tests are included in the performance section with the stock scores.

 

Important Editor Note: Our maximum overclocking result is the best result we managed in our limited time of testing the motherboard. Due to time constraints we weren't able to tweak the motherboard to the absolute maximum and find the highest possible FSB, as this could take days to find properly. We do however spend at least a few hours overclocking every motherboard to try and find the highest possible overclock in that time frame. You may or may not be able to overclock higher if you spend more time tweaking or as new BIOS updates are released. "Burn-in" time might also come into play if you believe in that.

 

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Motherboards content at our Motherboards reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Got an opinion on this content? Post a comment below!

Latest News Posts

View More News Posts

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases