TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
6,252 Reviews & Articles | 40,823 News Posts
TRENDING NOW: Sony teases PlayStation 5 could be a cloud-based console

ASUS P8P67 WS Revolution (Intel P67 Express) Motherboard - The BIOS

Following the launch of Sandy Bridge and with CES now behind us, we have the first of four ASUS P67 boards on the test bench. Say hello to the ASUS P8P67 WS Revolution workstation board.

| Socket LGA 1155 in Motherboards | Posted: Jan 25, 2011 10:49 am
TweakTown Rating: 91%Manufacturer: ASUS

BIOS

 

The new BIOS from ASUS is a change from what many will be used to. Instead of a basic system with only keyboard input, you get something a little more functional. You also have two modes; one is a basic mode and what you see when you first open up the BIOS.

 

TweakTown image content/3/7/3795_13.jpg

 

Here you can change your operating profile with a simple click. You have three options to choose from. These options are similar to the ones we have shown you when using the old EPU 6 software. Now you can set them in the BIOS without the need to have any OS installed. This is useful to people that might not want to install Windows.

 

TweakTown image content/3/7/3795_14.jpg

 

The advanced mode is more like what we are used to dealing with. There is an AI Tweaker page and many of the other pages you are used to in older ASUS BIOSes. Of course, things are also a lot more consolidated and the use of a mouse inside the BIOS makes navigation even easier. You will note something new listed; that is the Internal PLL Overvoltage. Now, you might not think this is a big deal, but as we have already told you this simple setting can mean the difference between a 47 multiplier and a 50.

 

TweakTown image content/3/7/3795_15.jpg

 

Again, as we told you in our coverage of ASUS at CES, we found some of the same features that were once reserved for the ROG line-up filtering down into the mainstream and workstation market.

 

TweakTown image content/3/7/3795_16.jpg

 

TweakTown image content/3/7/3795_17.jpg

 

Some things still stay the same, though, as we find options broken out into an Advanced section.

 

TweakTown image content/3/7/3795_18.jpg

 

The Monitor tab is where we now find the Q-Fan controls. These have been extended to both the CPU and Chassis.

 

TweakTown image content/3/7/3795_19.jpg

 

TweakTown image content/3/7/3795_20.jpg

 

TweakTown image content/3/7/3795_21.jpg

 

One item I really like is the ability to see what the SPD information really is without having to boot into Windows. Again, with a simple click I have all of the timing information at my fingertips.

 

TweakTown image content/3/7/3795_22.jpg

 

TweakTown image content/3/7/3795_23.jpg

 

Overall I think I like the new BIOS layout. I do wish that it had a screen shot mode, but I hear that is coming very soon.

 

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Motherboards content at our Motherboards reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Got an opinion on this content? Post a comment below!

Latest News Posts

View More News Posts

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases