TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
5,666 Reviews & Articles | 36,014 News Posts

ASUS P8P67 WS Revolution (Intel P67 Express) Motherboard - Real-World Tests Part II

Following the launch of Sandy Bridge and with CES now behind us, we have the first of four ASUS P67 boards on the test bench. Say hello to the ASUS P8P67 WS Revolution workstation board.

| Socket LGA 1155 in Motherboards | Posted: Jan 25, 2011 10:49 am
TweakTown Rating: 91%      Manufacturer: ASUS

Here we have our real gaming tests. Each of the games we chose uses multiple cores and GPUs. They are able to stress the system through use of good AI. Both have decent positional audio that adds impact to the sound subsystem of the board. We ran each game through the level or parts listed and recorded frame per second using FRAPS. This brings the whole game into play.

 

*** A word on gaming as a motherboard test; ***
Despite the fact that most games are very GPU limited, we are still noticing HDD and even audio creating issues in gaming performance. Because of this you may see differences in the number of frames rendered per second between different boards. Usually the difference is very small, but occasionally, because of bad tracing, poor memory or HDD performance, this difference is significant. The issues are often more prevalent in older versions of DirectX, but can still pop up in DX10 and 11.

 

Call of Duty Modern Warfare 2 (DX9)

 

Version and / or Patch Used: 1.0
Timedemo or Level Used: First combat until the school is cleared
Developer Homepage: http://www.infinityward.com
Product Homepage: http://modernwarfare2.infinityward.com

 

Most of you know about the game Modern Warfare 2 - It caused quite a bit of controversy in the latter half of 2009. The game is a first person shooter with a heavy combat emphasis. It follows the events in the first Modern Warfare very closely and brings back several characters from the original.

As with most games in the Call of Duty franchise, it features a heavy AI load. This is not because of a complex AI routine, but more due to the sheer number of enemies in any given combat situation. It is also our single DX9 based game in our testing suite. Settings are shown below.

 

TweakTown image content/3/7/3795_81.png

 

TweakTown image content/3/7/3795_82.png

 

TweakTown image content/3/7/3795_54.png

 

With this older DX9 game, the combination of the ASUS WS Revolution, the Core i7 2600K and the AMD HD 5870 from ASUS gives us performance that is simply way over what you would need to enjoy the game. Not to mention the fact that all of these systems are extremely close together in terms of gaming performance with this game anyway.

 


Far Cry 2 (DX10)

 

Version and / or Patch Used: V1.00
Timedemo or Level Used: Clearing the Safe house through to the Rescue
Developer Homepage: http://www.ubi.com
Product Homepage: http://www. http://farcry.us.ubi.com

 

Far Cry 2 is a large sandbox style game. There are no levels here, so as you move about the island you are on you do not have to wait for the "loading" sign to go away. It is mission driven, so each mission is what you would normally think of as the next "level".

In the game you take the role of a mercenary who has been sent to kill the Jackal. Unfortunately your malaria kicks in and you end up being found by him. Long story short, you become the errand boy for a local militia leader and run all over the island doing his bidding. Settings we used for testing are shown below.

 

TweakTown image content/3/7/3795_83.png

 

TweakTown image content/3/7/3795_55.png

 

Interestingly enough the Revolution drops back a little bit in Far Cry 2 when we push DX10 on it. Still, all of the systems are pretty evenly matched.

 

Battlefield Bad Company 2 (DX11)

 

Version and / or Patch Used: V1.00
Timedemo or Level Used: From washing up on the beach to the mine fields.
Developer Homepage: http://www.ea.com/
Product Homepage: http://badcompany2.ea.com/

 

Battlefield Bad Company is another sequel and also another game "franchise". Bad Company 2 is also our DX11 Shooter game. The game follows a fictitious B company team on a mission to recover a Japanese defector. This puts you back in World War II (at least for the beginning of the game) while the multi-player game is centered on much more modern combat. For our testing we used the single player mode. Settings are shown below.

 

TweakTown image content/3/7/3795_84.png

 

TweakTown image content/3/7/3795_56.png

 

Interestingly in our DX11 game we find that our AMD system is out in the lead. Of course, this is only by 3 FPS (as most of the others are), but still interesting to see this board in the lead.

 


Gaming Conclusion

 

Despite it being marketed toward the workstation crowd, the P8P67 WS Revolution showed itself to be a capable gaming board. The audio was good and of course the Intel LAN was spot on. We also did not have any issues with level load times or in game lag. All in all, the P8P67 WS would make an excellent gaming platform, especially with its three way GPU support.

 

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Motherboards content at our Motherboards reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Post a Comment about this content

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts

Latest Downloads

View More Latest Downloads

TweakTown Web Poll

Question: Did EA kill the Battlefield franchise with the terrible BF4 issues?

Yes, Battlefield is doomed

No, Battlefield will live on strong

I'm not sure, but I know EA needs to improve its game

or View the Results

View More Polls

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases
Get TweakTown updates via Facebook!
Just click the "Like" button below