TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
6,251 Reviews & Articles | 40,806 News Posts
TRENDING NOW: Sony teases PlayStation 5 could be a cloud-based console

Lian Li PC-V1020B Mid Tower Chassis - The Build and Finished Product

The PC-V1020B is the best thought out Lian Li chassis we have seen to date. Come have a look at why!

| Mid-Tower Cases in Cases, Cooling & PSU | Posted: Jan 17, 2011 7:00 am
TweakTown Rating: 91%Manufacturer: Lian Li

The Build and Finished Product

 

TweakTown image content/3/7/3780_27.jpg

 

Getting everything ready to install on the motherboard tray was a breeze. With the wide back panel you can install most of the larger coolers without any hassle, and still be able to slide this in as one unit.

 

TweakTown image content/3/7/3780_28.jpg

 

I noticed that to be able to install the power supply, you must first remove the support. Just remove the dust cover, unscrew the two screws, and remove it. When the PSU is back in place, reset this support according to how long your power supply is, hence the four slots on each side for custom length support.

 

TweakTown image content/3/7/3780_29.jpg

 

There was a bit of prep work involved with the rest of the chassis. Installing the drives was pretty straight forward, but the wiring can be tricky. To keep things clean looking, it will take a bit of thought and creative wiring. Here is what I was left with before I was sure I was ready to slide in the tray.

 

TweakTown image content/3/7/3780_30.jpg

 

Sliding in the tray, I did run into a light issue. You may notice that the top fan has been removed to allow this Noctua cooler to be used. I blame that on the high CPU placement on the motherboard and not the case. All of the wiring had plenty of length to get everything connected and still leave the build relatively clean and free from visible wiring.

 

TweakTown image content/3/7/3780_31.jpg

 

The rear of the chassis doesn't take on much of a change when all of the components are installed. I did use one of the holes with grommets to pass a pair of the USB 3.0 cables so that they could be plugged in via the rear I/O USB ports.

 

TweakTown image content/3/7/3780_32.jpg

 

Behind the scenes there is an addition that was sorely missed in my PC-X1000, and that is room behind the tray and shelf for wiring. There is roughly 20mm of an offset that allows just enough room for the 24-pin cable without bowing the rear panel when it is placed back on. Thanks go to Lian Li for listening and adding this little feature, from me.

 

TweakTown image content/3/7/3780_33.jpg

 

When everything is place back on the PC-V1020B and I powered up the unit, the black and silver versions will glow from the front LED fans in blue. The red version uses red fans. Aside from that lighting of the fans, there is the blue power LED in the top right corner with a red HDD activity Led just below it.

 

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Cases, Cooling & PSU content at our Cases, Cooling & PSU reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Got an opinion on this content? Post a comment below!

Latest News Posts

View More News Posts

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases