TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
6,198 Reviews & Articles | 40,009 News Posts

Sapphire Pure Black X58 Motherboard - BIOS & Overclocking

Sapphire begins to move away from just video cards with a new performance motherboard. How's the Pure Black X58 perform?

| Socket LGA 1366 in Motherboards | Posted: Jan 11, 2011 10:31 am
TweakTown Rating: 90%Manufacturer: Sapphire

BIOS & Overclocking

 

Sapphire is using the AMI BIOS and once you fire it up you're going to find yourself in familiar territory.

 

TweakTown image content/3/7/3774_20.jpg

 

The first screen that greets you just gives you the basic information like amount of RAM, BIOS version and CPU you're using. From there we can begin to move across to the other screens and get into the fun stuff.

 

TweakTown image content/3/7/3774_14.jpg

 

Under Performance we begin to see a lot of our main overclocking options including the BCLK and multiplier. When it came to overclocking we pushed our CPU Frequency to 176 and as you can see, our target CPU frequency was 4415MHz. At this speed we used a 2:10 memory divider which gave our RAM a 1766MHz DDR clock. Lower than what the kit is capable of, but the next speed was well over 2000MHz DDR.

 

TweakTown image content/3/7/3774_15.jpg

 

Across the bottom of the performance screen we've got the ability to save and load up to four profiles. It would've been nice to name the saved profile here just so you know what you were loading, but it's not a huge issue.

 

TweakTown image content/3/7/3774_16.jpg

 

Getting into the CPU configuration, we have some more details on the CPU, but more importantly the ability to turn off some of those pesky technologies Intel implement that limit our overclocking ability.

 

TweakTown image content/3/7/3774_17.jpg

 

TweakTown image content/3/7/3774_18.jpg

 

Under the Voltage area you get all your voltage options. There's a huge amount to choose from and you can see the ones we used to achieve our overclock. You've got a huge amount of play room, though, and the increments are extremely low, giving you the ability gets some exact numbers.

 

TweakTown image content/3/7/3774_14.jpg

 

Under Advanced you have the ability to go to the hardware health tab which gives you a run down on what everything is running at.

 

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Motherboards content at our Motherboards reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Got an opinion on this content? Post a comment below!

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases