TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
5,984 Reviews & Articles | 38,652 News Posts

Zalman ZM1000-HP Plus 1000W Power Supply - Inside the Box

Zalman's ZM1000-HP Plus boasts high performance and near silent operation with dual heat pipes and a large 140mm fan.

| Other PSUs in Cases, Cooling & PSU | Posted: Jan 7, 2011 10:49 am
TweakTown Rating: 89%      Manufacturer: Zalman

Inside the Box

 

TweakTown image content/3/7/3765_09.jpg

 

Opening things up, we see that Zalman has two boxes inside the exterior packaging. The top box contains only the power supply and the bottom box is for all modular cables and everything else included.

 

TweakTown image content/3/7/3765_10.jpg

 

Inside the accessory box we find the modular cables, power cable, user manual, and a bag containing mounting screws, cable ties, and a Molex to dual 3-pin fan adapter.

 

TweakTown image content/3/7/3765_11.jpg

 

One side of the ZM1000-HP Plus displays a label denoting the PSU.

 

TweakTown image content/3/7/3765_12.jpg

 

The other side of the PSU shows quality assurance testing and model/serial numbers.

 

TweakTown image content/3/7/3765_13.jpg

 

The top of the ZM1000-HP Plus is where you will find the I/O specification label.

 

TweakTown image content/3/7/3765_14.jpg

 

Taking a look at the front of the power supply, we can see the various connections for the modular cables as well as an added vent for increased airflow.

 

TweakTown image content/3/7/3765_15.jpg

 

The back utilizes a honeycomb mesh design that enables as much airflow as possible. The only spaces that obstruct airflow are the necessities: mounting holes, power switch, and power input.

 

TweakTown image content/3/7/3765_16.jpg

 

The bottom of the ZM1000-HP shows off the large 140mm dual ball bearing fan and wire mesh grill.

 

TweakTown image content/3/7/3765_17.jpg

 

One thing that we noticed was that Zalman didn't use a cable guard/grommet around where the wires exit the power supply. This wouldn't be a huge deal if all of the cable's sleeves started inside the PSU, but they don't. As you can see above, the wires are left to rub on the edge of the PSU housing and could possibly become bare over time.

 

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Cases, Cooling & PSU content at our Cases, Cooling & PSU reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Post a Comment about this content

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts
Check out TweakTown Polls on LockerDome on LockerDome

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases