TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
6,071 Reviews & Articles | 38,992 News Posts

Thermaltake Toughpower XT 875W Power Supply - Inside the Box

Is Thermaltake's Toughpower XT 875W PSU as tough as the name implies?

| Other PSUs in Cases, Cooling & PSU | Posted: Dec 16, 2010 4:40 am
TweakTown Rating: 94%Manufacturer: Thermaltake

Inside the Box

 

TweakTown image content/3/7/3736_06.jpg

 

Taking a look inside the box, we can see that the Toughpower XT 875W power supply is packaged in a layer of bubble wrap. There is also a piece of foam not shown on the top and bottom of the power supply to help protect it even further. To secure it in place so that it doesn't move around in shipping, the native and modular cables are used to fill the space surrounding the power supply.

 

TweakTown image content/3/7/3736_07.jpg

 

One side of the Toughpower XT 875W has a label and three LED's that show the status and if there are any faults with the power supply.

 

TweakTown image content/3/7/3736_08.jpg

 

The other side of the power supply has several vents that allow the PSU to vent even more hot exhaust out of the power supply. The only bad thing about their location is that it vents them back inside the case.

 

TweakTown image content/3/7/3736_09.jpg

 

On the back we see that Thermaltake uses a honeycomb grill to allow hot exhaust out of the power supply.

 

TweakTown image content/3/7/3736_10.jpg

 

Taking a look at the front of the power supply, we can see the modular cabling for the Toughpower XT 875W. The only two native cables are the 24-pin Main connector and the ATX 4+4/EPS12V connector.

 

TweakTown image content/3/7/3736_11.jpg

 

The Toughpower XT 875W power supply houses the I/O specification label on the top so that it is out of sight once installed in the chassis.

 

TweakTown image content/3/7/3736_12.jpg

 

On the bottom we see that the fan grill is actually part of the case and molded from the punch outs during manufacturing.

 

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Cases, Cooling & PSU content at our Cases, Cooling & PSU reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Got an opinion on this content? Post a comment below!

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases