Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
6,591 Reviews & Articles | 44,692 News Posts

V3 Avenger Core i7 930 Gaming Desktop PC - Packaging, Internals and Set-Up

This week we've got an overclocked powerhouse of a system on the test bench with Tri-SLI GTX 480s - the Avenger from V3 Gaming.

By: | Gaming Desktop PCs in Computer Systems | Posted: Dec 14, 2010 3:12 am
TweakTown Rating: 93%Manufacturer: V3 Gaming

Packaging

 

content/3/7/3729_01.jpg

 

The Avenger rolled into town in a plain brown system box.

 

content/3/7/3729_02.jpg

 

Underneath the top flap, we find a glimpse of the foam brackets that cushion the system during transit, as well as the MSI motherboard packaging, which has been repurposed as the accessories box.

 

content/3/7/3729_03.jpg

 

content/3/7/3729_04.jpg

 

As we dig deeper, we see that V3 has also reused the Antec "Twelve Hundred" chassis packaging for the inner box.

 

content/3/7/3729_05.jpg

 

content/3/7/3729_06.jpg

 

Freed from its cardboard and foam prison, we get our first look at the Avenger. Using a combination of matte and glossy textures along with a clear window, gives the system a sleek, monochromatic appearance.

 

content/3/7/3729_07.jpg

 

content/3/7/3729_09.jpg

 

V3 has applied vinyl logo decals on both sides of the chassis to spruce it up a bit.

 

content/3/7/3729_010.jpg

 

The full ATX chassis has plenty of room inside and no shortage of fans, including the large 200mm one on top.

 

content/3/7/3729_08.jpg

 

The Blu-ray drive occupies the uppermost optical bay. Just above that we have the front I/O, which consists of two USB 2.0 ports, an eSATA port, and mic & headphone jacks.

 

content/3/7/3729_011.jpg

 

content/3/7/3729_012.jpg

 

Rear I/O consists of PS/2 keyboard and mouse inputs, optical and coaxial S/PDIF outs, 2xUSB2.0, 2xSATA, FireWire, 2xUSB3.0, Ethernet, and multi-channel analog audio outs. Each of the three GPUs have DVI and HDMI outs.

 


Internals

 

content/3/7/3729_014.jpg

 

content/3/7/3729_015.jpg

 

content/3/7/3729_016.jpg

 

Inside we see the Asetek liquid CPU cooler and radiator, as well as the three ZOTAC GTX 480 GPUs stacked on top of one another. Even with four physical hard drives installed, there's still room for more. The components are all hooked up with a nice, tidy wiring job - something we definitely expect to see in a system from a boutique builder.

 


Documentation & Accessories

 

content/3/7/3729_017.jpg

 

content/3/7/3729_018.jpg

 

content/3/7/3729_019.jpg

 

The accessories box contained a few cables and the manuals for several of the internal components.

 

content/3/7/3729_020.jpg

 

content/3/7/3729_021.jpg

 

content/3/7/3729_022.jpg

 

A black binder contained a ZOTAC driver disc and a disc of DirectX 11 and CUDA technology demos, as well as an invoice and Steam download coupons for Mafia II and Napoleon: Total War.

 

For this review, V3 and ASUS provided us with a very nice ASUS VG236 23-inch 120MHz 3D-ready LCD monitor and an nVIDIA 3D Vision Kit.

 

content/3/7/3729_023.jpg

 

content/3/7/3729_024.jpg

 

content/3/7/3729_025.jpg

 

content/3/7/3729_026.jpg

 

content/3/7/3729_027.jpg

 

The 3D Vision kit includes the rechargeable glasses, two USB cables, transmitter, documentation, and two extra nosepieces for the glasses.

 

PRICING: You can find products similar to this one for sale below.

 

United States: Find other tech and computer products like this over at Amazon's website.

United Kingdom: Find other tech and computer products like this over at Amazon UK's website.

Australia: Find other tech and computer products like this over at PLE Computer's website.

Canada: Find other tech and computer products like this over at Amazon Canada's website.

 



Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Computer Systems content at our Computer Systems reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Got an opinion on this content? Post a comment below!

Latest News Posts

View More News Posts

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases
Subscribe to our Newsletter
Or Scroll Down