TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
5,676 Reviews & Articles | 36,076 News Posts
Weekly Giveaway: Fractal Design Arc Cases Contest (Global Entry!)

ZEROtherm ZT-560D and ZT-570D CPU Coolers - The ZEROtherm ZT-560D / ZT-570D CPU Coolers

Need a tight compact cooling solution that will fit in even the tightest of spaces? Look at what ZEROtherm has brought out to solve that dilemma.

| CPU Air Coolers in Cases, Cooling & PSU | Posted: Dec 9, 2010 3:58 am
TweakTown Rating: 89%      Manufacturer: ZEROtherm

The ZEROtherm ZT-560D / ZT-570D CPU Coolers

 

TweakTown image content/3/7/3716_06.jpg

 

The ZT-560D on the left is identical to the ZT-570D from all angles. A thick aluminum plate holds the copper base plate and the four, 6mm diameter heat pipes to the mounting system. The pipes make a tight bend on the left so they may return to the horizontal run of fifty-eight fins. These coolers are then cooled with a clear, 92mm fan with blue LEDs in the hub.

 

TweakTown image content/3/7/3716_07.jpg

 

With the tight bend of the heat pipes it allows both the 560 and 570 to sit in just about any chassis. With around 77mm needed for clearance it makes these a great candidate over a stock cooler in a HTPC or other SFF chassis. Between the fan and the fins there are no anti-vibration measures taken; it makes me wonder what the fan will do when I send 12V through the 4-pin PWM connection.

 

TweakTown image content/3/7/3716_08.jpg

 

Both sides are designed the same. Both sides have a groove cut into the edge of the fins to allow the plastic tabs on the side of the 92mm fan to lock onto the cooler. You can also see that the ending section of fins is cut shorter in length. This is to allow access to the mounting hardware without needing a special tool in already cramped conditions.

 

TweakTown image content/3/7/3716_09.jpg

 

This side of the coolers shows the base plate, heat pipe, and mounting hardware sandwich. The pipes are soldered into the base, as the fins come back over the top; the fifty-eight fins are pressed onto the pipes and are proud of the last fin.

 

TweakTown image content/3/7/3716_10.jpg

 

The top view shows that the fan covers the fin arrangement very well. Most of the area that the fan would not have covered is removed so that you may use a long Phillip's screwdriver to mount these into place.

 

TweakTown image content/3/7/3716_11.jpg

 

Under the coolers you are greeted with the mounting legs surrounding an exposed copper base. From its time being shipped the copper on both bases and the heat pipes are very oxidized. For testing I will remove the oxidation from the bases before I test. A simple sticker over the bases would have combated this from the factory, although it wouldn't have helped the heat pipes.

 

TweakTown image content/3/7/3716_12.jpg

 

I chose the all copper ZT-570D to show the condition of the base. It is milled fairly flat, with only slight distortion to the base. As I tested both bases with a razor blade, the copper section is level as can be, and are ever so slightly taller than the surrounding aluminum on the two sides.

 

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Cases, Cooling & PSU content at our Cases, Cooling & PSU reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Post a Comment about this content

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts

Latest Downloads

View More Latest Downloads

TweakTown Web Poll

Question: Did EA kill the Battlefield franchise with the terrible BF4 issues?

Yes, Battlefield is doomed

No, Battlefield will live on strong

I'm not sure, but I know EA needs to improve its game

or View the Results

View More Polls

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases
Get TweakTown updates via Facebook!
Just click the "Like" button below