TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
5,910 Reviews & Articles | 38,061 News Posts

Crucial Ballistix Active Cooling Fan w/ Memory Overview Display - Testing and the Ballistix MOD Utility

Crucial brings sleek looking cooling, new temperature reporting memory modules, and an application to fully monitor this new DDR3.

| Cooling Fans in Cases, Cooling & PSU | Posted: Dec 3, 2010 8:26 am
TweakTown Rating: 90%      Manufacturer: Crucial

Testing and the Ballistix MOD Utility

 

TweakTown image content/3/6/3694_21.jpg

 

I wanted to get an installed image of the memory before I took things too far. As you can see, the colored stripe is oriented in the easiest viewable direction, and with one quick view people will know what you have under the hood.

 

TweakTown image content/3/6/3694_22.jpg

 

Adding the BLACTIVECOOL Fan assembly is simple, just stretch the legs around the memory slot locks and gently release the pressure. Under power you can see there are no added LEDs to this kit, and you also see a finger print. I left the print as a reminder, you mist wipe the fan down after it is in place, as hard as I tried I left prints all over it.

 

TweakTown image content/3/6/3694_23.png

 

After you download and install the appropriate 32 or 64 bit version of the Ballistix MOD Utility and install it, you are left with a desktop icon that opens this. The MOD Utility shows four main pages; SPD data, temperature, settings, and an about section so you may contact Crucial via the address if things don't work for you. I however had no issues getting this installed or running.

 

TweakTown image content/3/6/3694_24.png

 

I cleared the CMOS and booted the Ballistix modules with the XMP settings, and from the first boot they were running at 2133 MHz, with 9-10-9 timings. This 34°C reading is showing the temperature of DIMM3, or the hotter of the two modules with a room ambient of 25°C. Of course, this is with the fan running. The logging feature is very simple and intuitive and offers the ability to go back and see exactly what the temperatures were.

 

TweakTown image content/3/6/3694_25.png

 

Under the settings tab you can change the unit of temperature measurement, the rate at which the chart in the previous image updates, and the rate in which the log file will record. Don't forget when you are done to save your settings with the button at the bottom right corner.

 

TweakTown image content/3/6/3694_26.png

 

In the about page, Crucial offers site information for the memory, a link to the forums, and even a way to check for updates to the software.

 

TweakTown image content/3/6/3694_27.png

 

Just so I could say I was at 4 GHz on the processor I overclocked the memory to 2208 MHz with the stock timings and voltages required for 2133 MHz. Even with just a touch more speed added, you can see the temperatures with the fan are already increasing ever so slightly.

 

TweakTown image content/3/6/3694_28.png

 

This is what results you would get without the BLACTIVECOOL Fan. With the same abuse of 32M SuperPi Mod 1.5, the memory runs over eleven degrees hotter and that isn't including what this dead zone of heat does to the surrounding motherboard when you are water cooling as I am.

 

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Cases, Cooling & PSU content at our Cases, Cooling & PSU reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Post a Comment about this content

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts

TweakTown Web Poll

Question: Facebook's acquisition of Oculus VR will...

Improve Oculus Rift Development

Hamper Oculus Rift Development

Completely destroy Oculus Rift Development

Let's wait and see, I'm not sure

or View the Results

View More Polls

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases