TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
6,000 Reviews & Articles | 38,740 News Posts
TRENDING NOW: Intel's Core i7-5960X CPU has already been overclocked to 6.2GHz

Crucial Ballistix Active Cooling Fan w/ Memory Overview Display - The BLACTIVECOOL Fan, Hardware and Assembly

Crucial brings sleek looking cooling, new temperature reporting memory modules, and an application to fully monitor this new DDR3.

| Cooling Fans in Cases, Cooling & PSU | Posted: Dec 3, 2010 8:26 am
TweakTown Rating: 90%      Manufacturer: Crucial

The BLACTIVECOOL Fan, Hardware and Assembly

 

TweakTown image content/3/6/3694_12.jpg

 

Once I take the fan assembly out of the box I noticed the brilliance of the black nickel coating applied to the entirety of the metal components of this fan. The clear blades of the 60mm fans offer good airflow while still allowing a look through them while spinning.

 

TweakTown image content/3/6/3694_13.jpg

 

The fan assembly is made of two main pieces of steel that sandwich the fans. The fans are mounted securely to the bottom half, while bolts travel through both the steel and the fans in the middle. Both fans are wired together and then one wire continues away from the fans, sheathed, with a 3-pin connection for power.

 

TweakTown image content/3/6/3694_14.jpg

 

Looking under the BLACKTIVECOOL fan, you can see this cooler was designed with strength in mind. Not only is the metal thick enough on its own to hold together and not create a vibration, but Crucial adds an "I" brace to the middle to make real sure the fan assembly is as solid as a rock.

 

TweakTown image content/3/6/3694_15.jpg

 

Packed inside the box with the fan you will locate both the instructional sheet along with a white cardboard box containing the hardware.

 

TweakTown image content/3/6/3694_16.jpg

 

In the box you will find both sides to the cooler, four thumb screws for securing the sides to the main fan section, and a 4-pin Molex adapter for power if you don't have an open fan header on the motherboard.

 

TweakTown image content/3/6/3694_17.jpg

 

Something I haven't seen before on any cooler I have owned is that Crucial adds a layer of high density foam to help ease the stress induced on the locks for the memory that they clamp on to.

 

TweakTown image content/3/6/3694_18.jpg

 

Even the outside of the legs are thought of, and Crucial has provided a plastic sticker to the outside of the cooler. This way if it happens to touch the VGA, it won't short out to the card. I have had boards where this gap is very close, and I had concerns of this. Crucial takes all the worry out of the memory cooling game with these two simple features.

 

TweakTown image content/3/6/3694_19.jpg

 

The other feature I liked about this fan assembly is the adjustable legs. If you want to run this fan over Tracers it doesn't need to be as high as with the Ballistix I have here. Simply slide the leg up the side and shorten the assembly to the desired height for your memory. To clear the kit I was supplied, the top setting is needed for clearance.

 

TweakTown image content/3/6/3694_20.jpg

 

One last look at the assembled cooler before I install it and bring on the testing!

 

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Cases, Cooling & PSU content at our Cases, Cooling & PSU reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Got an opinion on this content? Post a comment below!

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts
Check out TweakTown Polls on LockerDome on LockerDome

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases