TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
5,677 Reviews & Articles | 36,088 News Posts
Weekly Giveaway: Fractal Design Arc Cases Contest (Global Entry!)

Gateway FX6803 Core i7 930 Gaming Desktop PC - Gaming Performance

The Spotted Cow returns, offering a mid-range gaming system for under $1500.

| Gaming Desktop PCs in Computer Systems | Posted: Dec 2, 2010 3:02 pm
TweakTown Rating: 80%      Manufacturer: Gateway

Gaming Performance

 

TweakTown strives to provide our readers with a reasonable expectation of what they can expect in terms of real-world performance in our gaming tests. Instead of testing all systems and titles at, say, 1280x768 with 4xAA and comparing framerates, we determine a particular system's maximum playable settings and report those settings along with the resultant framerates.

 

Even though this makes direct comparison between systems a bit more difficult, we feel it best reflects how the typical gamer uses a system. Most players aren't interested in getting framerates in the 100s at 1280x768 if the title is still playable at 1680x1050.

 


Batman: Arkham Asylum

 

TweakTown image content/3/6/3692_151.jpg

 

Using Arkham Asylum's built-in benchmarking tool (included in Patch 1.1), we achieved maximum playable settings at 1920x1080 with 8xAA and "Very High" performance settings. Gaming at 16xAA produced unsatisfactory framerates.

 

TweakTown image content/3/6/3692_098.png

 

Frame rates were as follows. 48 max, 27 min, with an average of 36.

 


Far Cry 2

 

TweakTown image content/3/6/3692_152.jpg

 

We ran Far Cry 2 with all the settings maxed out at 1920x1080, 8xAA, and Ultra High detail level.

 

TweakTown image content/3/6/3692_099.png

 

It averaged 60 fps, with a high of 116 and a low of 29.

 


Battlefield: Bad Company 2

 

TweakTown image content/3/6/3692_153.jpg

 

TweakTown image content/3/6/3692_100.png

 

At 1920x1080, the FX6803 delivered an average of 34 fps, with a maximum of 53 and a minimum of 28.

 


BioShock

 

TweakTown image content/3/6/3692_154.jpg

 

TweakTown image content/3/6/3692_101.png

 

The system cranked out an average of 120, with a max of 178 and min of 66 at 1920x1080 and Very High detail level.

 

For an in-depth review of the capabilities of the ATI HD 5850, see here.

 

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Computer Systems content at our Computer Systems reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Post a Comment about this content

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts

Latest Downloads

View More Latest Downloads

TweakTown Web Poll

Question: Did EA kill the Battlefield franchise with the terrible BF4 issues?

Yes, Battlefield is doomed

No, Battlefield will live on strong

I'm not sure, but I know EA needs to improve its game

or View the Results

View More Polls

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases
Get TweakTown updates via Facebook!
Just click the "Like" button below